Church of St Mary, Little Blakenham
Description: Church of St Mary
Date Listed: 9 December 1955
English Heritage Building ID: 433495
OS Grid Reference: TM1049248858
OS Grid Coordinates: 610492, 248858
Latitude/Longitude: 52.0980, 1.0717
Location: Valley Road, Little Blakenham, Suffolk IP8 4NG
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Little Blakenham, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
LITTLE BLAKENHAM VALLEY ROAD
TM 14 NW
7/65 Church of St. Mary
Parish church, mediaeval. Nave, chancel, west tower, south porch. Plastered
rubble walling to body of church with freestone dressings. The tower has
exposed rubble walls of flint with brick and limestone inclusions. Plaintiled
roofs (the tower roof is leaded with battlemented parapets). The porch is
probably of C15 origin, with moulded doorway and the remnants of side windows
(all in freestone), and coupled-rafter roof; major repairs in brickwork are of
C16 and later. Good mid C13 east chancel window of 3 stepped lancets under
one arch, with pierced trefoils in the spandrels. On the inner face are
engaged columns and on either side are large recesses with trefoiled heads and
similar columns; in the survey of J.H. and Jas Parker (1855), both recesses
had mediaeval figure paintings. A lancet in the east wall has 2 figures and
friezework painted on the reveals; these were repainted in 1850. A mid C14
south chancel window has mask corbels. Extensive late C14 alterations include
most of the 2-light windows, the south nave doorway and the plain unbuttressed
cower. This has brick relieving arches above windows and a lion-head gargoyle
on the west. The bell-frame is original, repaired in C16. Late C14 canted
and boarded nave roof with moulded cornice; the chancel roof was probably
rebuilt in 1868. Early C16 alterations include 2 chancel windows, priest's
doorway and piscina. Plain octagonal font, perhaps of c.1400. A painted coat
of arms ofJamesII, dated 1685. Other internal furnishings including Gothick
box pews, are of 1868.
Listing NGR: TM1049248858
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.