Church of St John the Evangelist, Faversham
Description: Church of St John the Evangelist
Date Listed: 3 August 1972
English Heritage Building ID: 438510
OS Grid Reference: TR0151561785
OS Grid Coordinates: 601515, 161785
Latitude/Longitude: 51.3195, 0.8905
Location: Church Road, Faversham, Kent ME13 7HR
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Faversham, Kent at Explore Britain.
TR 0161 NE FAVERSHAM UPPERBRENTS
(north west side)
1/292 Church of St John the
1881, built by Kirk and Son of Sleaford in Early English style. It was built at the expense of Mrs Hall of Syndale House, Faversham, the widow of a gunpowder manufacturer in Faversham. Built of knapped flint with Bath stone dressings and tiled roofs. Nave of 5 bays with west entrance, lower chancel of three bays and south-east aisle. Lancet windows in deep embrasures. West front has nave with oculus with quatrefoil and triple lancet and arched doorcase with colonnettes. Double lancet window to aisle. All other windows are double lancets apart from tall triple lancet east window to chancel. Windows are divided by angle buttresses and roofs have cross-shaped saddlestones. Interior has arcade supported on circular columns, barrel-vaulted roof, octagonal stone font, original pews and octagonal wooden pulpit. Stained glass by Frederick Prosed. Source: BOE "North East and East Kent" p318.
Listing NGR: TR0151361785
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.