Westwood Hall, Leek
Description: Westwood Hall
Date Listed: 10 March 1975
English Heritage Building ID: 461711
OS Grid Reference: SJ9662756293
OS Grid Coordinates: 396627, 356293
Latitude/Longitude: 53.1038, -2.0518
Location: Westwood Park Dr, Leek, Staffordshire ST13 8NP
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Leek, Staffordshire at Explore Britain.
SJ95NE WESTWOOD PARK AVENUE
611-1/1/138 (West side)
10/03/75 Westwood Hall
House, in use as school since c1920. 1850-53. By Hadfield
Weightman and Goldie. For John Davenport, son of John
Davenport the founder of the Davenport Pottery Company at
Leek. Red sandstone ashlar with plain and scallop-tiled roofs.
Jacobean style with robust detailing throughout.
EXTERIOR: 2-storeyed with attics. Entrance front: clock tower
towards left, with round archway with heavy voussoirs and
keystone in lower storey, 2 and 4-light mullioned windows
above. Oriel window in main range set beneath tower. Coped
gables over clock in each elevation, and gableted turret
finial with weather vane.
To right of tower, 5-window range symmetrically planned with
central projecting full-height entrance porch flanked by
canted bay windows with 3-mullioned lights, and outer 4-light
mullioned and transomed windows with leaded glazing.
Continuous cill band to first-floor windows, which are also
mullioned and transomed, and all windows have hollow
chamfering to mullions, and dripmoulds. Round-arched doorway
to porch, chamfered and with pendant keystone. 4-light
mullioned and transomed window above. Segmental pediment to
parapet of porch. 3 coped gables with ball finials to attics.
Garden front: 8-window range, asymmetrical, with 3 gabled
range terminated by higher gable to right. 2-storeyed canted
bay window in left-hand gable, and paired 4-light mullioned
and transomed windows in central gable. (3-lights to first
Right-hand gable has full-height bow window with conical roof.
Advanced and higher gable beyond, of 3 full-storeys with
paired 4-light mullioned and transomed windows with leaded
patterned glazing, and round-arched mullions. Upper windows of
3 and 2-lights to first floor, 4 and 2-lights to attic. Gable
itself coped, with stack at right-hand angle. Return wing to
right and rear range (service ranges) are brick, also
2-storeyed with attic dormers. Various axial and end wall
INTERIOR: retains much of original layout, arranged on a
courtyard plan, with principal rooms overlooking garden, and
full-height great hall behind clock tower. Much original
detail also survives, including plaster ceilings, and
fireplaces of principal rooms. Of the fireplaces, one has
monochromatic tiles illustrating crafts in the style of de
Morgan, and another has heavy overmantel enriched with
strapwork. The entrance hall and staircase were reinstated
after serious fire damage in 1983, the stained glass in the
stair window largely salvaged.
Listing NGR: SJ9662756293
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.