Church of St Andrew, Deal
Description: Church of St Andrew
Date Listed: 17 October 2002
English Heritage Building ID: 489841
OS Grid Reference: TR3748253008
OS Grid Coordinates: 637482, 153008
Latitude/Longitude: 51.2268, 1.4000
Location: 21 Union Rd, Deal, Kent CT14 6EA, UK CT14 6EA
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Deal, Kent at Explore Britain.
860/0/10024 WEST STREET
17-OCT-02 (West side)
CHURCH OF ST ANDREW
Parish church. 1850 by Ambrose Poynter in Early English style, chancel extended and vestries added in matching style in 1865. Some fittings added in 1889. Built of Kentish ragstone with Caen stone dressings and tiled roof. Comprises five bay nave and aisles, three bay chancel and side chapels, south west tower with spire and entrance underneath and also entrance to north east.
EXTERIOR: Three stage tower with buttresses incorporates eight mediaeval gargoyles thought to have been salvaged from either St Mary's Reculver or St Mary's Sittingbourne, both undergoing restoration in 1849. Bell stage has double trefoil window with quatrefoil above and wooden louvres. Trefoliated lancet to second stage and below arched doorcase with ornamental hinges. Stone spire with lucarnes and metal weathercock. West front has large central gable with blocked window with three circular motifs. Arched doorcase below. Left side gable with lancet. Pantiled roofs with two gabled dormers to aisles. Aisle windows are double lancets with quatrefoils above. The south aisle east front has a large arched window with lancet flanked by trefoil windows, the chancel has a large arched window with three lancets and three trefoils in circles above and buttresses. The north aisle has an octagonal stone fisherman's lantern on the roof apex, thought to have been lit in poor weather to help boats find their bearings , a cinquefoil window and three trefoliated lancets below. Entrance to north east in Caernarvon-arched door.
INTERIOR: Arcade has pointed arches and octagonal Caen stone columns. Nave has arch-braced roof with central kingpost and wider curved queen struts on stone corbels and is boarded. Western bay has wooden gallery with Royal Coat of Arms and was originally the boatmen's gallery where fishermen would sit for services but is now the organ gallery. Aisles have a similar roof to the nave but without the central kingpost. Stone font in north aisle is octagonal with carved panels on octagonal base and wooden font cover with finial. Original box pews. Portland stone floor. Elaborate 1889 octagonal carved pulpit with painted panels of saints and central carving of St Andrew and his cross. Lady Chapel has 1889 carved wooden altar with central Virgin with Child flanked by angels and two painted panels depicting Shepherds and Wise Men. Wooden chancel arch on stone columns is fashioned to resemble the upturned prow of a ship, St Andrew being the Patron Saint of fishermen and fishing the major industry of Deal in the C19. The chancel has an arch-braced roof, originally with a painted decoration and with a band of fretted decoration to the base. Carved choirstalls and seats. Aumbry, piscina and sedilia in south east wall. Sanctuary has four tiled murals by Alexander Gibbs depicting the Wedding at Cana, the Feeding of the Five Thousand, Moses and Manna and the Coming of Pentecost. Full set of stained glass windows also by Alexander Gibbs.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.