Church of St Petrock, Petrockstow
Description: Church of St Petrock
Date Listed: 4 October 1960
English Heritage Building ID: 91029
OS Grid Reference: SS5131909162
OS Grid Coordinates: 251319, 109162
Latitude/Longitude: 50.8628, -4.1140
Location: Cott Lane, Petrockstow, Devon EX20 3HQ
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Petrockstow, Devon at Explore Britain.
SS 50 NW
8/55 Church of St Petrock
Parish church. C14 aisle and C15 tower, the rest rebuilt in 1878 - 80 by J. F.
Gould. architect and Hedland and Grant of Torrington, builders. Roughly coursed
stone rubble walls with granite quoins to tower. Gable-ended slate roofs.
Plan: nave, north and south aisles, south porch and west tower. The church was
largely rebuilt in 1878 - 80 apart from the C15 tower and C14 north arcade as well
as some re-used features from the earlier church which suggest a Norman origin.
Exterior: 3-stage crenellated tower with obelisk finials and diagonal buttresses.
Segmental arched belfry lights. 4-centre arched granite west doorway with roll and
hollow moulding. West window is currently (1987) boarded up. North aisle has 3-
light Perpendicular window at west end, 2 very large Perpendicular style restored
windows and a smaller Decorated style window on the north wall. Buttresses between
windows and at either end. Lean-to C19 vestry in angle with chancel has shouldered
head doorway on north wall. 3-light C19 Decorated style east window with buttresses
to either side and below. Similar 2-light window on south side of chancel and
taller one at east end of south aisle. South wall also has similar style windows
apart from C15 style square-headed window to east of porch. Gabled south porch set
in angle between nave and west end of south aisle has coping to gable terminating in
cross finial with image niche below and 4-centred chamfered arch.
Interior: probably re-used C14 pointed arch south doorway. C14 arcade to north
aisle has octagonal piers with tall pointed double chamfered arches springing from
chamfered capitals. C19 arch beyond arcade dividing chancel from organ chamber.
South arcade is imitation of north arcade. Tower arcn has 4-centred double
cnamfered head and rubble piers.
Restored wagon roofs to nave, aisles and chancel. 5-sided pulpit dated 1631 with
panelled sides and strapwork carved at the top of each.
In chancel is Norman pedestal piscina hollowed from a cushion capital witn circular
shaft. Norman square font with central column and 4 corner shafts with arcading and
flower head decoration to sides. C16 pyramidal ornately carved and'crocketted font
Old glass in vestry window depicts heraldic shields connected with Yeo of Heanton
Satchville in the parish. Other glass by Kempe.
Sources: White's Directory - 1878; Beatrix Cresswell: Churches in the Deanery of
Listing NGR: SS5131909162
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.