This site is entirely user-supported. See how you can help.
Street View is the best available vantage point looking, if possible, towards the location of the building. In some locations, Street View may not give a view of the actual building, or may not be available at all. Where it is not available, the satellite view is shown instead.
Latitude: 50.9749 / 50°58'29"N
Longitude: -2.0617 / 2°3'42"W
OS Eastings: 395762
OS Northings: 119503
OS Grid: ST957195
Mapcode National: GBR 2ZD.TTY
Mapcode Global: FRA 66KJ.QM5
Entry Name: Jubilee Room
Listing Date: 27 July 1985
Source: Historic England
Source ID: 1263540
English Heritage Legacy ID: 320288
Location: Berwick St. John, Wiltshire, SP5
Civil Parish: Berwick St. John
Traditional County: Wiltshire
Lieutenancy Area (Ceremonial County): Wiltshire
Church of England Parish: Berwick St John St John
Church of England Diocese: Salisbury
ST 91 NE BERWICK ST. JOHN RUSHMORE PARK
9/62 Jubilee Room
Chapel, now cottage. 1887 for General Pitt-Rivers. Ashlar and
timber-framing with different patterns of brick nogging, tiled
roof, brick stack. Single storey and attic, 1-window front facing
drive. Large gabled porch to right with Tudor-arched doorway and
single light with hoodmoulds, terracotta heraldic arms to gable,
cusped bargeboards, to left is cross window with Tudor-arched
lights and hoodmould. Timber-framed first floor has wooden 3-
light mullioned and transomed window with decorative leading and
gable with bargeboards, lead downpipes with animal decoration.
Left return has large stone square bay with 5-light double-
transomed window with coloured and painted glass, battlemented
parapet with corbel table, gable over has decorated iron sundial
with words "Tempus fugit". Rear has one 3-light mullioned and
transomed window to first floor. Right return has similar window
and gable with date 1887 in wrought iron. Steeply-pitched roof
has wooden and copper cupola with turned balusters to openings and
ogee capping with weather vane.
Interior has one large room, formerly the chapel, with decorated
plaster panelling and open roof. General Pitt-Rivers built this
picturesque cottage as a chapel for the tenants of Rushmore Estate,
part of a picturesque group with North Lodge (q.v.), and entrance
gates and walls (q.v.). (N. Pevsner, The Buildings of England:
Wiltshire, 1975 p.526.)
Listing NGR: ST9576519497
This text is from the original listing, and may not necessarily reflect the current setting of the building.
Source links go to a search for the specified title at Amazon. Availability of the title is dependent on current publication status. You may also want to check AbeBooks, particularly for older titles.
Other nearby listed buildings