History in Structure

This site is entirely user-supported. See how you can help.


A Grade II Listed Building in Rossett, Wrexham

Approximate Location Map
Large Map »
Street View
Contributor Photos »

Street View is the best available vantage point looking, if possible, towards the location of the building. In some locations, Street View may not give a view of the actual building, or may not be available at all. Where it is not available, the satellite view is shown instead.


Latitude: 53.107 / 53°6'25"N

Longitude: -2.9611 / 2°57'39"W

OS Eastings: 335755

OS Northings: 357082

OS Grid: SJ357570

Mapcode National: GBR 77.87U3

Mapcode Global: WH88S.H55D

Entry Name: Meifod

Listing Date: 18 October 1996

Last Amended: 18 October 1996

Grade: II

Source: Cadw

Source ID: 17459

Building Class: Domestic

Location: Situated to the north side of Llay Road and to the west of the River Alyn. Adjacent to the former Lodge to Stoneleigh House.

County: Wrexham

Community: Rossett (Yr Orsedd)

Community: Rossett

Locality: Burton

Traditional County: Denbighshire

Find accommodation in


Date stone of 1818 identifies Meifod as one of the estate houses constructed during the stewardship of Trevalyn held by John Boydell. Hubbard claims that upper storey is later. No discernible evidence in the fabric to suggest such a claim and 1818 is entirely consistent with the building of such houses throughout Rossett, Gresford, and Marford, as Hubbard argues elsewhere.


Two-storey, painted, pebble-dashed brick construction. Pitched slate roof. Cottage Orne style of the Picturesque movement. Symmetrically composed front elevation under central dentilated broken triangular pediment. Pediment encloses date stone of 1818. Brick dentilated cornice tops highly distinctive undulating, or convex, treatment of the facade. Purlins exposed to pediment and gable ends to east and west. Ogee-arched Gothick windows to ground floor with later uPVC windows inserted; similar square-headed windows to 1st floor. To east and west returns blind circular window with quatrefoil. Blocked ogee doorway to east, new chimney stacks, and rear extension with catslide roof suggest alteration in late C19/early C20.


Internal inspection not possible at time of 1995 re-survey.

Reasons for Listing

Listed, notwithstanding replacement windows, as an example, dated 1818, of the distinctive picturesque estate houses constructed during the Stewardship of Trevalyn held by John Boydell.

Other nearby listed buildings

BritishListedBuildings.co.uk is an independent online resource and is not associated with any government department. All government data published here is used under licence. Please do not contact BritishListedBuildings.co.uk for any queries related to any individual listed building, planning permission related to listed buildings or the listing process itself.

British Listed Buildings is a Good Stuff website.