This site is entirely user-supported. See how you can help.
Latitude: 53.0992 / 53°5'57"N
Longitude: -2.9582 / 2°57'29"W
OS Eastings: 335940
OS Northings: 356210
OS Grid: SJ359562
Mapcode National: GBR 77.8MYL
Mapcode Global: WH88S.JCKD
Entry Name: The Cottage also known as Walnut Cottage
Listing Date: 3 June 1996
Last Amended: 3 June 1996
Source ID: 17683
Building Class: Domestic
Location: Backing on to the W side of Marford Hill at the S end of the village.
Community: Gresford (Gresffordd)
Built-Up Area: Gresford
Traditional County: Denbighshire
One of a group of cottages and houses built in Cottage Orne style for the Trevalyn Estate while it was under the stewardship of John Boydell. The buildings along Marford Hill were completed by 1820; Trevalyn accounts suggest building phases in 1814 and 1816. In 1814 Julius Flowers constructed a pise dwelling and it is possible some of the cottages are partially of this material. The cottage has several extensions in sympathetic style, and originally fronted a coach road which was disused following the construction of the A483 in 1828.
Render, slate roof, rendered chimneys, single storey and attic. Elevation to former coach road: projecting gabled bay with 3 linked cast-iron multipaned windows with Gothick glazing detail, larger central window has ogee head, above this a later window with an ogee hood-mould above. To right a later range in similar style, to left gabled porch. Left hand return has a single storey semicircular bay with a central cast iron multipaned window with Gothick glazing detail and ogee head flanked by a smaller window on each side. Rear elevation (to Marford Hill) has a slightly projecting gabled bay and single storey extensions.
Upper room has ceiling with plaster ribs.
Group value with the Trevor Arms Hotel.
Listed as an early C19 former Trevalyn Estate cottage in distinctive picturesque style.
Other nearby listed buildings