This site is entirely user-supported. See how you can help.
Latitude: 53.1586 / 53°9'30"N
Longitude: -3.0411 / 3°2'27"W
OS Eastings: 330483
OS Northings: 362891
OS Grid: SJ304628
Mapcode National: GBR 73.55S7
Mapcode Global: WH88C.8V3X
Entry Name: Old Parsonage
Listing Date: 5 June 1997
Last Amended: 5 June 1997
Source ID: 18471
Building Class: Domestic
Location: Situated in its own grounds c500m NW of St. John the Baptist’s Church, reached from a short drive running E from the A550 at the N end of Penymynydd.
Community: Penyffordd (Pen-y-ffordd)
Traditional County: Flintshire
The parsonage was built in 1846, possibly to the design of John Buckler who designed the neighbouring church of St John the Baptist in 1843. It is now privately owned.
Restrained Elizabethan style, fine coursed masonry, slate roof, stone parapet and kneelers to gable ends, and circular buff terracotta chimneys which are grouped to give picturesque effect. Subrectangular plan with L shaped service range attached to the NW side, 2 storeys. The main elevation faces S towards the church. It is symmetrical with a central chimney rising from the gable and a central first-floor stone oriel with a moulded base which is flanked by 6-pane windows with label moulds. There is a central entrance with overlight flanked by tall tripartite windows. Right hand return elevation is gabled and has a window with label-mould in the upper floor and a bay window to the ground floor. Rear elevation has twin gabled roofs. The service wing is a low range which partly encloses a courtyard at the rear of the house.
Interior not inspected at the time of the 1997 survey.
Listed as a good little-altered example of an early Victorian parsonage of some architectural distinction.
Group value with the church of St. John the Baptist.
Other nearby listed buildings