This site is entirely user-supported. See how you can help.
Latitude: 52.5587 / 52°33'31"N
Longitude: -3.216 / 3°12'57"W
OS Eastings: 317662
OS Northings: 296349
OS Grid: SO176963
Mapcode National: GBR 9X.CWD8
Mapcode Global: WH7B1.KYT9
Entry Name: Coach-house and stables, Cefn Bryntalch
Listing Date: 14 July 1997
Last Amended: 14 July 1997
Source ID: 18511
Building Class: Domestic
Location: Located on the E side of a courtyard surrounded by service buildings to Cefn Bryntalch Hall. An opening through the centre of this range forms the entrance to the courtyard. The house lies to the S.
Community: Llandyssil (Llandysul)
Traditional County: Montgomeryshire
Built by G.F. Bodley in 1869 as part of Cefn Bryntalch Hall, for Richard Edward Jones.
Brick under a hipped tiled roof with a wide, central, full-height opening. Single storey and attic with brick ridge stack towards the S. The entrance has an inner archway with keystone and a side entrance for pedestrians under a round arch. The main opening has wooden gates. The entrance exterior has distinctive brick quoining. On the exterior are 2 gabled, attic dormers with diamond leaded lights (these replaced on N side). The courtyard elevation has, to the north of the entrance, 3 coach-houses each with double doors hung from separating brick columns beneath moulded stone lintels. The former stables are located to the left (N) of the entrance. There are 2 doorways under segmental brick-arched heads but one has been converted to a window. To the right of each one is a circular window with small panes.
Listed grade II as part of a picturesque group of service buildings designed by G.F. Bodley which contribute to the architectural unity of Cefn Bryntalch Hall.
Other nearby listed buildings