History in Structure

This site is entirely user-supported. See how you can help.

Pencreigiau

A Grade II Listed Building in Pontarfynach, Ceredigion

Approximate Location Map
Large Map »
Street View
Contributor Photos »

Street View is the best available vantage point looking, if possible, towards the location of the building. In some locations, Street View may not give a view of the actual building, or may not be available at all. Where it is not available, the satellite view is shown instead.

Coordinates

Latitude: 52.343 / 52°20'34"N

Longitude: -3.8144 / 3°48'51"W

OS Eastings: 276495

OS Northings: 273202

OS Grid: SN764732

Mapcode National: GBR 93.TKJ2

Mapcode Global: VH4FW.TCVR

Entry Name: Pencreigiau

Listing Date: 9 July 2003

Last Amended: 16 March 2005

Grade: II

Source: Cadw

Source ID: 81037

Building Class: Domestic

Location: In woodland on the Hafod estate just NE of the monument to the Duke of Bedford and some 550m SW of Eglwys Newydd church.

County: Ceredigion

Town: Ystrad Meurig

Community: Pontarfynach

Community: Pontarfynach

Locality: Hafod

Traditional County: Cardiganshire

Find accommodation in
Pentre-briwnant

History

House said to have been first built c.1800 for Thomas Johnes of Hafod as an 'elegant house' for his gardener, James Todd. Enlarged in 1839 by 4th Duke of Newcastle for use by his gamekeeper. The Duke wrote in his diary 'Craigie has been enlarged and done up and is remarkably pretty'.
It is suggested (RCAHMW) that there may have been a single storey summerhouse on this site pre-dating the Johnes era at Hafod.

Exterior

Picturesque cottage in 'Tudor' style, double-fronted, one-storey plus attic. Rubble stone, slate eaves roof and dressed stone end chimneys with paired diagonally-set stacks. Decorative pierced fretted bargeboards throughout. Entrance front has central doorway with Tudor arch, traceried overlight, and replica door with vertical panels. To each side, a broader Tudor-arched window with two pointed lights; small-pane sash glazing. All openings with stone voussoirs. Slate sills. Above each window, a small gabled dormer with unusual triangular-headed glazing, small-paned 2-light casement pair with triangular heads and a diagonally-set square pane above. Decorative bargeboards and tall finial with pendant.
Rear has camber-headed openings, and consists of gabled crosswing with 2-light casement window to each floor, and a range parallel to main block, with single 2-light casement window, cut-down chimney breast, and to L return, gable end with 2-light casement to each floor, and doorway.

Interior

Entrance hall faces underside of stair (accessed from kitchen). To L, living room/parlour with shutters to windows. To R, kitchen with large fireplace, and, in corner, unusual stair (boxed in) rises and then divides to give access to front and rear upper rooms. Service rooms at rear of house. Interior retains many period details such as 4- and 6-panelled doors, fireplaces, kitchen range, pump in rear 'scullery'. In one upper room, a rare, probably early C19, lead bath in original wooden panelled surround.

Reasons for Listing

Included as an earlier C19 estate cottage retaining its picturesque character and associated with the important Hafod estate.

Other nearby listed buildings

BritishListedBuildings.co.uk is an independent online resource and is not associated with any government department. All government data published here is used under licence. Please do not contact BritishListedBuildings.co.uk for any queries related to any individual listed building, planning permission related to listed buildings or the listing process itself.

British Listed Buildings is a Good Stuff website.