This site is entirely user-supported. See how you can help.
Street View is the best available vantage point looking, if possible, towards the location of the building. In some locations, Street View may not give a view of the actual building, or may not be available at all. Where it is not available, the satellite view is shown instead.
Latitude: 51.866 / 51°51'57"N
Longitude: -4.2665 / 4°15'59"W
OS Eastings: 244038
OS Northings: 221035
OS Grid: SN440210
Mapcode National: GBR DJ.SLC6
Mapcode Global: VH3LJ.0C9B
Entry Name: Lodge at former Bishops Palace (Carmarthenshire County Museum)
Listing Date: 22 October 2003
Last Amended: 22 October 2003
Source ID: 81932
Location: On the N side of the former Bishop's Palace, with its back to High Street.
Traditional County: Carmarthenshire
The Bishops Palace was founded by Bishop Barlow of St Davids, appointed in 1536. The palace was substantially rebuilt in Elizabethan style by Bishop Jenkinson (1825-40) but was mostly destroyed by a fire in 1902. It was rebuilt in 1903-7 and remained an episcopal residence until 1972, since when it has been converted to a museum. The lodge was built in the mid C19 and is first shown on the 1889 Ordnance Survey.
A picturesque-style single-storey lodge of pebble-dashed walls, and slate roof with central pebble-dashed stack with 2 octagonal shafts. The roof is hipped to the polygonal front, and carried on wooden posts, while the rear is half-hipped and has trefoiled barge boards. Windows have latticework glazing bars and simple hood moulds. The front has a central 3-light window, with blind windows to the adjacent cants. Futher L is a 2-light window and then a door with diagonal boarding. On the R side is an added brick porch with boarded door. Towards the rear, where the wall is stepped out to the eaves line on both sides, is a 2-light window on the R side and single-light window to the L.
Listed as a small, largely unaltered picturesque style lodge and for its contribution to the architectural setting of the former Bishop's Palace.
Other nearby listed buildings