This site is entirely user-supported. See how you can help.
Latitude: 53.262 / 53°15'43"N
Longitude: -4.1049 / 4°6'17"W
OS Eastings: 259700
OS Northings: 375959
OS Grid: SH597759
Mapcode National: GBR JN72.GFY
Mapcode Global: WH541.X8GL
Entry Name: Dam and drive across Nant Meigan on Baron Hill estate
Listing Date: 13 July 2005
Last Amended: 13 July 2005
Source ID: 84769
Building Class: Water Supply and Drainage
Location: Reached along Mill Lane and then a path running W along the banks of the Meigan brook which passes the remains of Town Mills (slate mill) with its leat running from below the dam.
County: Isle of Anglesey
Community: Beaumaris (Biwmares)
Locality: Nant y Felin
Built-Up Area: Beaumaris
Traditional County: Anglesey
Built in its present Piranesian form in the 1840s as part of a new picturesque drive to Baron Hill from the ornamental gates at Garth Lodge, on the A545 just over two kilometres to SW of Beaumaris town.
Monumental masonry dam closing the head of Nant y felin and impounding the stream for industrial and picturesque purposes. Coursed and random masonry (approx 14m high) with heavily battered profile and four large raked buttresses. At mid-height level, there is a segmentally-arched and brick-vaulted tunnel with projecting stone sill to the main water outlet with ramped spillway between the buttresses. Low down to right is a second outfall under a long (now split) lintel which formerly fed the stone-lined leat running downhill to the former slate dressing mill (rebuilt in 1675). Driveway is carried on top with pond to upper side of dam and then continues N to bridge over B5109 and the ruins of Baron Hill beyond.
Listed for its special interest as a monumental mid C19 estate dam of definite quality and character, and as an integral part of the estate at Baron Hill.
Other nearby listed buildings