Church of St Michael and All Angels, Sopley
Description: Church of St Michael and All Angels
Date Listed: 30 September 1964
English Heritage Building ID: 143769
OS Grid Reference: SZ1564696715
OS Grid Coordinates: 415646, 96715
Latitude/Longitude: 50.7698, -1.7795
Location: Sopley, Hampshire BH23 8ET
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Sopley, Hampshire at Explore Britain.
SZ 19 NE SOPLEY CHURCH LANE
11/16 Church of St Michael and
30.9.64 All Angels
Parish church. C13, earlier origins, restored C15, C19 & C20. Rubble iron-stone
with Binstead stone dressings, brick rebuilding (part rendered), plain tile and
lead roofs. Plan of chancel much altered, nave with transept, and aisles and west
tower, rebuilt, embraced by aisles. East end of chancel has restored C15 Perpendic-
ular 3-light cinquefoiled window and set-back buttresses. To south pointed lancet
and doorway, and C15 squareheaded 3-light cinquefoiled window. To north brick
buttress, pointed lancet and similar C15 window. North transept has C13 triple
trefoiled lancet side windows, to north C19 3-light window and made-up opening in
gable dated 1676. South transept has angle buttresses and restored C15 4-light
window. Crossing of nave has wall around low pitched roof. To south aisle
eastern C15 squareheaded window and mock-stone C20 vestry, large west buttress. To
north C15 2-light squareheaded windows and large gabled porch with hollow moulded
doorway and reset medieval carving over. At west large C19 timber Perpendicular
window. Either side tall stepped buttresses to shortened west tower with parapet
having finials on corners and short leaded spire. Inside chancel old rere-arches
some old stained-glass to east, and barrel-vaulted plaster ceiling. Monuments, 1786
to Ann Willis, 1819 to James Willis, 1804 to Wadham Wyndham, and 1780 to Peter Noyes.
At south west low-set lancet with squint from transept. Much restored 2-centred
chancel arch. Above on nave side fresco of crucifixion by J Emms, 1869. Heavy
crossing arches to transepts, with double wave moulding. In north transept C13
and C14 piscina and corbel heads. Organ in south transept. To west 2 bay C14
arcades, on octagonal piers. Tower stands on 3 open arches. North aisle into
transept supported by 2 c1400 heads. Plain north door, either side, fixed to wall,
2 Purbeck marble effigies of C13, under trefoiled canopies. On wall war memorial
by Eric Gill. In south aisle C15 door and medieval coffin lid. C19 arch-braced
king-post roof on old corbel heads. C17 octagonal pulpit. Under tower retooled
C14 font. Either side C16 linen-fold panelling. South west arms board. VCH;
Vol IV; 1912; p130-1. Buildings of England, Hampshire; N Pevsner; 1966; p509-10.
Listing NGR: SZ1673798427
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.