Description: St Botolphs
Date Listed: 25 February 1952
English Heritage Building ID: 164345
OS Grid Reference: TL1832501859
OS Grid Coordinates: 518325, 201859
Latitude/Longitude: 51.7030, -0.2891
Explore more of the area around Shenley, Hertfordshire at Explore Britain.
TL 10 SE SHENLEY SHENLEYBURY
3/290 St. Botolphs
25.2.52 (formerly listed as
Church of St. Botolph)
Former Parish Church now house. Circa 1424 following a bequest by Maud,
Countess of Salisbury. Chancel demolished, the rest re-roofed and altered
1753. SW tower demolished 1925. Squared knapped flintwork of a high
standard with brick and stone dressings. Tiled roofs. Rectangular on plan
with 2 span roof. Original nave and S aisle remain; tower, chancel and
nave arcade demolished. 4 bays. N and S windows of 2 cinquefoiled lights,
double chamfered, with simple rectilinear tracery under 2 centred arched
heads. Diamond leaded panes. Hood moulds. Cement rendered surrounds. 2
stage buttresses, between bays and at angles, with raking tiled tops,
and brick quoins. Buttresses stop below brick dentilled eaves cornice.
Original tower S door in W bay. Plank door with strap hinges. Double
hollow chamfered surround with pointed arched head. Smaller door in 2nd
bay from E end. Moulded C19 surround with pointed head. Above this door
a square stone sun-dial set at an angle dated 1741 and inscribed 'TEMPUS
FUGIT'. Entrance in W bay on N wall. Pointed arched head, moulded C19
surround. Large C19 stack to centre on N side ramped up from a broad
base at eaves to a narrow shaft, oversailing courses to a gabled cap.
Brick parapets to gable ends. W end wall: C19 4 light window with 4
centred head and simple Perpendicular tracery. Brick and flint diamond
patterned flushwork in gable with rendered date 1753. Brick kneelers and
corbelling to parapet. Braced timber support for bell, now missing. E
end wall: similar, C19 4 light window with traces of earlier chancel
arch opening. Flushwork, braced timber support. Some stone blocks in
gable and as quoins in buttresses. Interior: 1970's living accommodation
inserted. C18 double queen post roof. Marble and alabaster monument to
Sir Jeremiah Snow, d.1704, on N wall near W end. Base with inscription and
projecting arms below gadrooning. Niche above with urn, keyed head and
skull finial. C17 floor slabs and indents for brasses. C19 plaster font.
Traces of mid C19 and early C20 stained glass in top lights of most
windows, largely removed to Church of St. Martin (q.v.) following
declaration of redundancy in 1972. (RCHM 1910:VCH 1923:Pevsner 1977).
Listing NGR: TL1832501859
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.