Church of St Dunstan, Cranbrook
Description: Church of St Dunstan
Date Listed: 20 June 1967
English Heritage Building ID: 168891
OS Grid Reference: TQ7768936169
OS Grid Coordinates: 577689, 136169
Latitude/Longitude: 51.0973, 0.5363
Location: Jockey Lane, Cranbrook, Kent TN17 3JX
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Cranbrook, Kent at Explore Britain.
CRANBROOK CARRIERS ROAD, (EAST
TQ 7736 SIDE)
Church of St Dunstan
Parish Church. Late C13, C14 late C15, early C16, restored C1863 by
William Slater and Ewan Christian. Dressed stone with plain tiled roofs, all
hidden by crenellated parapets except chancel. West tower, nave with north and
south aisles, south porch, north and south transeptal chapels and chancel.
Extension: 3-stage tower with crenellated parapet and south-east octagonal stair
turret. Stepped angle buttresses. Two-light cusped belfry openings under
label moulds with 2-centred arched openings on second stage and large C15 window
above pointed arched west doorway heavily inset. Six-bay nave and aisles all
with large late C15 or early C16 windows, some quite heavily renewed. Two-bay
transeptal chapels, little more than extensions eastwards of aisles. Chancel
of 3 bays with higher pitch to roof. Clock on south wall of town, C1700 with
C20 figure of time (original in Town Museum), in open swan-neck pediment topping
cartouche. Interior: C15 tower arch. Six-bay arcades, with compound plans of
4 shafts and 4 double waves, wide 3-centred arches matching carrying clerestory
with 4 centred arched windows. Vertical shafts flanking clerestory windows
terminate below in demi-angles over pairs of arcade and as demi-angles on roof
corbels. Crown-post nave roof with cusped arches in tympana. C14 chancel arch.
Fittings: 4 wooden roof bosses, ("Green Men"), C1300. Early C15 altar rails.
C18 pulpit, with sounding board, now a table. Font of 1852 in perpendicular.
Also total immersion font of 1725 by south porch. Glass: one window in north
aisle with complete early C16 glazing. North and south chancel windows by
O'Connor, C1858-59. Three windows in south aisle by C E Kempe, 1902. Monuments.
Brass of merchant C1520. Marble standing monument, for the Roberts family,
1740 by Joseph Pickford. Broker pediment and drops of oak-leaves. Baker family
1736. Obelisk. Thomas webster, R A d.1886 by Hamo Thorney-Croft, 1889. Marble
relief of recumbent artist.
Listing NGR: TQ7769036166
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.