Church of St Mary, Lamberhurst
Description: Church of St Mary
Date Listed: 20 October 1954
English Heritage Building ID: 169972
OS Grid Reference: TQ6820736580
OS Grid Coordinates: 568207, 136580
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1038, 0.4012
Location: Church Road, Lamberhurst, Kent TN3 8DU
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Lamberhurst, Kent at Explore Britain.
LAMBERHURST CHURCH ROAD
TQ 63 NE
3/135 Church of St.Mary
Parish church. Chancel C12, extended C13, nave C14 and C15 tower, restored c.1870 by
Ewan Christian (with Edward Hussey's interest if not involvenent). Rubble sandstone
and plain tiled roofs. Chancel and nave each with south aisle, and south western
tower and south porch. Each section of the church separately roofed. Nave with
offset corner buttresses and 2 light and quatrefoil C14 fenestration throughout,
except west window, a 5 light Perpendicular design. Two stage tower with offset
corner buttresses, battlements and recessed shingled spire and south western stair
turret. South porch with angle buttresses and restored square headed door surround
with quatrefoil spandrel enrichment and roll moulded doorway, and anchor ties
Crown post roof inside porch. Chancel and chapel fenestrated as nave except for
eastern lancet in north wall and reticulated chapel east window and Perpendicular
style chancel east window. Interior: four bay C14 nave arcade with double chamfered
arches on octagonal piers and similar tower arch and chancel and chapel arches.
Crown post roofs. Later C14 three bay chancel arcade, the eastern arch set lower,
and remains of an eastern C13 arch, much lower than the arcade, and part of
evidence gathered at restoration of 1870s that the chancel extended further east
and downslope before C14. Fittings: some C14 encaustic tiles in south chapel.
Piscina and sedilia incorporated into chancel arcade. Three tier pulpit, dated 1630,
with tester and with unusually rich arcaded enrichment, the lower tiers made up C19
from old and reproduction panelling. Royal Arms of Queen Anne over south door,
originally the top of an C18 reredos, enriched with urns and putti in clouds. Series
of wall monuments, the most notable a black and white aedicule to Richard Thomas
d.1657, and the series of marble plaques to the Husseys in the south (Scotney)
chapel, including those of Edward Hussey, d.1894 and the late Christopher Hussey,
d.1970. See B.O.E. Kent, 1, 364; also V. Morland, The Church in Lamberhurst.
Listing NGR: TQ6781936707
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.