Church of All Saints, Burmarsh
Description: Church of All Saints
Date Listed: 9 June 1959
English Heritage Building ID: 175505
OS Grid Reference: TR1011832035
OS Grid Coordinates: 610118, 132035
Latitude/Longitude: 51.0492, 0.9964
Location: Church Road, Burmarsh, Kent TN29 0JB
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Burmarsh, Kent at Explore Britain.
TR 101 321 BURMARSH
4/47 Church of All Saints
Parish church. C12. C13 and C15, restored 1878. Stone, with plain tile
roof to chancel. Nave roof not visible. West tower, short nave, south
porch, small chancel. West tower: C15. 2 stages on low moulded plinth,
with battlements above moulded string. Integral north-west and south-
west angle buttresses. Trefoil-headed, hollow chamfered louvred light
to each side of belfry. Another, smaller, with square head, hollow spandrels
and hoodmould towards base of upper stage to west. West window of two trefoil-
headed lights with renewed mullion, no opening between lights and no voussoirs
or hoodmould. Corbel head at what would have been apex. Moulded 2-centred
arched west doorway with hoodmould. Nave: C12. South elevation: no visible
plinth. Battlemented without string. 2 buttresses. C15 window above porch of
2 cinquefoiled lights with cavetto mullion and square head, C19 two-light
window towards east, pointed, with two trefoil-headed lights,trefoil and
hoodmould. South porch: said to be dated 526. Stone, with cement-rendered
quoins. Round-arched outer architrave with decorative cast-iron gate. Inner
doorway C12, with fat roll, chevron, and outer billet moulding. Stone face
affixed towards apex. Square moulded abaci to single shaft either side with
scalloped cushion capitals and slightly moulded bases. Doorway infilled with
3-centred arched stone inner architrave. Chancel: C12. Galleted stone. No
plinth. Gabled. Traces of blocked south-west window with trefoiled head. C19
east window. Short narrow C12 north window with rounded head formed from
single stone. Nave: north elevation: moulded plinth continuous with that of
tower. Battlements above chamfered string. Central C19 north window.
Interior: Structure: aisle-less nave. No chancel arch. C13 pointed tower
arch with chamfered jambs and imposts. Roof: crown-post roof of 1878 to
chancel, unobtrusively stencilled. Shallow-pitched C19 king-post roof to
nave. Fittings: Royal Arms of George III to south wall of nave, unusually
signed, "J. Marten Tenterden Pinxt". Oval text board. Bell, probably late
C14, standing in north-east corner of nave, ascribed to John Danyell of
London (Anne Roper, The Church of All Saints,Burmarsh, 1980). Reredos
1897-1900, carved in Oberammergau. (J, Newman, Buildings of England Series,
West Kent and the Weald, 1980).
Listing NGR: TR0949831932
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.