Brockhill County Secondary School, Saltwood
Description: Brockhill County Secondary School
Date Listed: 27 August 1952
English Heritage Building ID: 175650
OS Grid Reference: TR1494635805
OS Grid Coordinates: 614946, 135805
Latitude/Longitude: 51.0813, 1.0675
Location: Saltwood, Kent CT21 4HG
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Saltwood, Kent at Explore Britain.
TR 13 NW SALTWOOD SANDLING ROAD
(formerly listed as
House, now school. 1611 by Thomas Tournay, and mid C19, with C20 alterations.
C17 range roughly coursed galleted stone with plain tile roof. C19 range
rendered, with slate roof. C17 range with left third (possibly partly a
cross-wing) projecting forwards slightly. Linked by short left return wing
(possibly cross-wing to C17 range), to C19 parallel rear range. C17 range:
2 storeys. Left end of left section and left return elevation raised to
height of taller C19 range. Chamfered stone plinth. Flat eaves soffits to
left end of left section. Roof of left end of left section hipped to front,
roof of main range hipped to right. Red brick stack rising from eaves to
front of left end section. Broad projecting C17 stone stack, also to front
elevation, forming right end of left section. Narrower stone stack to centre
of main range with chamfered string and stone base with brick relieving arches.
Projecting stone clock tower almost adjacent to right with chamfered stone
plinth. Irregular fenestration of 6 windows; two 12-pane sashes (one at half-
level) with segmental heads to left end of left section; one 16-pane mullioned
sash to left end of main range; one 24-pane mullioned sash to left of next
stone stack and one 2-light rendered mullioned window to right of tower.
Blocked rectangular chamfered stone window to left end of left section and
similar window to right of porch. 8-panel stone mullioned and transomed
window with moulded hoodmould to right of clock tower. Very slightly projecting
stone parch towards left end of "main range" with moulded rounded arch and
vestigial stone pilasters. C17 panelled door in moulded rectangular architrave
dated 1611. Left return elevation refaced or rebuilt in mid C19 with entrance
porch. Rear range: 2 storeys with rendered quoins and flat eaves soffits.
Hipped roof. Regular 5-window front of 12-pane sashes with segmental heads,
in moulded architraves. Interior not inspected.
Listing NGR: TR1494635805
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.