Church of St Bartholomew, Bobbing
Description: Church of St Bartholomew
Date Listed: 24 January 1967
English Heritage Building ID: 176041
OS Grid Reference: TQ8881465119
OS Grid Coordinates: 588814, 165119
Latitude/Longitude: 51.3538, 0.7103
Location: Sheppey Way, Bobbing, Kent ME9 8PN
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Bobbing, Kent at Explore Britain.
TQ 86 NE BOBBING SHEPPEY WAY
2/28 Church of St. Bartholomew
Parish Church. C14 with earlier fragments restored 1863 by R.C. Hussey.
Flint with ashlar dressings, and plain tile roof. Nave and chancel
with continuous north aisle, south porch and western tower. Three-
stage tower on plinth, with C19 board west door in double hollow-
chamfered surround, 2 light window with sexfoil in head over the
door, single light belfry openings in top stage. Restored south
porch with C20 board doors in double chamfered and roll moulded
surround. Chancel roof stepped down, nave and chancel with 3 offset
buttresses and C19 restored Decorated-style windows, and small
sauctus-bell-window. East window restored 3-light reticulated,
North aisle has good series of c. 1320 windows, cusped 'Y'-tracery
at east, three 2-light windows on north wall with mouchettes over,
and with split-cusped trefoils and linking bars to west windows.
Interior: plain unmoulded tower arch. Arcade of 3 double chamfered
arches to north aisle, on octagonal piers. Plastered ceiling with 2
tall crown posts. North aisle of one build along whole north side
of church, with 3 short octagonal crown posts. Double chamfered
chancel arch on octagonal piers. Chancel with arch through to aisle,
with carved head stops to hood mould, and crown post and plastered
roof. Fittings: chamfered piscina in chancel, and ogee-headed
piscina in north aisle, which also has 2 stone brackets for statues
before the window. Triple sedilia in chancel, part restored, shafted
arches of c. 1300. The west respond now shows Romanesque carving of
c. 1190, showing St. Martial ordaining a deacon, with inscription:
SANCTUS MARCIALIS PIUS PATRONCUS. Monuments: 2 brasses, now at the
west end, both made c. 1420, to Sir Arnold(d. 1410)and Lady Joan
Savage, and Sir Arnold Savage, d. 1420. Both damaged, the former with
canopy gone, the latter with figure mutilated. On south wall, brass
to Joan Bourne, d. 1496. South nave wall, hanging monument to Charles
and Francis Tufton, d. 1657. Two half-length busts under broken segmental
pediment containing a cartouche and supported by corinthian pillars and
frieze, and below, the inscribed plaque. In the north aisle, a similar
black and white wall monument to Henry Sandford of Bobbing Court,
d. 1660, and his wife Elizabeth. Busts of man and woman with open
pediment containing cartouche, and below a coved and inscribed plaque.
On chancel south wall, white marble plaque in Latin to William Tyndale,
d. 1748 who had pulled down the chief residence in the parish, Bobbing
Court. Stained glass: fragments in north-east window of aisle, early C14
details of plants. Associations: church records state in 1672 " our
minister is gone to sea". In fact, the minister was Titus Oates,
fleeing justice, before his later success in fabricating the Popish Plot
See: Church Guide 1979, B.O.E. Kent II (1983 edition), 147.
Listing NGR: TQ8891665300
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.