Church of St John the Baptist, Bredgar
Description: Church of St John the Baptist
Date Listed: 24 January 1967
English Heritage Building ID: 176108
OS Grid Reference: TQ8800760322
OS Grid Coordinates: 588007, 160322
Latitude/Longitude: 51.3109, 0.6962
Location: The Street, Bredgar, Kent ME9 8EY
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Bredgar, Kent at Explore Britain.
TQ 86 SE BREDGAR THE STREET
5/100 Church of St. John
24.1.67 The Baptist
Parish Church. C14 with C12 west door. South porch and restoration
1894. Flint with stone dressings and plain tiled roof. West
tower, nave and south aisle and chancel with continuous north aisle,
south porch and external vice. Exterior: 3 stage west tower on plinth
with string courses, battlements, large quoins and octagonal
stair turret. West doorway Romanesque in 4 orders of nail head,
zig zag, roll mould, zig zag, and attached columns. Over it, C19
decorated style 2 light window, with C15 Perpendicular belfry
lights, and C20 clock. South aisle with 4 C15 Perp. 2 light
windows with quatrefoils over and roll and hollow chamfered drip-
moulds. South door C19 in C15 doorway of 3 roll-moulded orders.
External octagonal vice, and diagonal buttress at east end of south
aisle, with C15 Perp. 3 light and 6 over south east window.
Chancel with C19 Perp. style windows. North aisle with C15 Perp.
3 light and 6 over east window, 1 diagonal and 4 offset buttresses,
and 3 C15 late Curvilinear traceried windows, of 2 lights with
quatrefoils or sexfoils over. Interior: heavy tower arch with
triple hollow chamfer, nave arcade of 3 octagonal moulded piers
with double hollow chamfered arches, and double hollow chamfered
chancel arch. Roof of 4 crown posts. South aisle with
doors to external vice for rood stair. Lean to and cross-beamed
roof. North aisle has roof of 4 crown posts. North and south
aisles each with 1 arch to chancel,with double hollow chamfered
arches. Chancel of 2 bays with crown post roof. Fittings:
restored cusped piscina in chancel, and south east window responds
brought down to form sedillia. Finely moulded piscina on north
east aisle wall. C17 screen to tower of 2 tiers of turned balusters
and low single central door. C14 octagonal font on restored
base. Monuments: In the chancel north wall to Terrey Aldersey d. 1670
oval plaque with Latin inscription with bolection moulded
surround on shrouded death's head, and broken swan-neck pediment
with achievement. In the north aisle, wall plaque to Humphrey
Clarke, also Woodchurch d. 1608. Black and white marble, with base
on demi-angel with side scrolls, semi-circular headed plaque
and corinthian columns supporting frieze and broken pediment with
cartouche, and obelisks over. To west of this, wall plaque to
Thomas Brenchley, d. 1818. Black and white plaque with cornice
and obelisk over, with large urn flanked by burning torches, by
Patten and Brisley of Rochester. On west wall, brass to Thomas
Coly d. 1518, a clergy man holding a chalice, 19½" inches long,
with Latin inscription. Fragments of C14 and C15 glass in north
aisle east window, includes Man of Sorrows. Two coats of Arms on
lozenge panels in north aisle, and Royal Arms of George III over
south door. (See B.0.E. Kent II. 1983 pp 157-8).
Listing NGR: TQ8796460250
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.