Church of All Saints, Iwade
Description: Church of All Saints
Date Listed: 24 January 1967
English Heritage Building ID: 176149
OS Grid Reference: TQ9013267949
OS Grid Coordinates: 590132, 167949
Latitude/Longitude: 51.3787, 0.7307
Location: 27 The Street, Iwade, Kent ME9 8SJ
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Iwade, Kent at Explore Britain.
TQ 96 NE IWADE THE STREET
3/2 Church of All Saints
Parish church. C13 with C14 fenestration, south aisle c. 1504, restored
1874, south porch added 1893. Rubble and plain tiled roof, with
flint and rubble tower with shingle roof. Nave and chancel, south
aisle and south porch, west tower. Two stage tower with blocked
west doorway, single light over and belfry openings. South aisle
built after 1504 (money bequest in that year) with diagonal buttresses
2 offset buttresses and 2 two-light Perpendicular windows.
Restored south-east and east windows, 3 light Perpendicular. Chancel
roof line steps down and in to nave roof, showing separate build.
North nave and chancel wall with 4 offset buttresses three C14 windows
and plain chamfered north doorway. Gabled south porch, moulded
outer doorway with hood. Inner doorway and door of c. 1504, over-
lapping plank and stud, strapped ironwork, ring handle with 2 dragons
twisted round; door surround roll moulded with hollow chamfer
and basket arch with quatrefoil over. Interior: nave with 2 bay
arcade to south aisle on octagonal piers with broad, double chamfered
arches. Double chamfered doorway to tower. Roof of 4 crown posts,
as also south aisle. Floor level internally raised approximately
1 foot. No chancel arch. Single arched opening from chancel to
south aisle, chancel roof C19 crown posts. Fittings: water stoup
by south door, piscina in chancel and cusped piscina in south
aisle. Wooden screen in south aisle, 3 bays with Perpendicular
tracery and door in left bay, finely moulded with attached shafts
for (missing) statues. Brasses: on large stone slab in south west
corner, to Symon Snelling d. 1467 and wife Jokuosa (Joyce). One
foot high, Symon has lost his head. Glass: south-east window,
c. 1504 crucifixion scene, repaired 1840. Royal Coat of Arms:
George III, on the west wall. (See BOE Kent II, 1983, 363).
Listing NGR: TQ9009967904
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.