Church of St Margaret of Antioch, Lower Halstow
Description: Church of St Margaret of Antioch
Date Listed: 24 January 1967
English Heritage Building ID: 176155
OS Grid Reference: TQ8601767422
OS Grid Coordinates: 586017, 167422
Latitude/Longitude: 51.3754, 0.6713
Location: The Street, Lower Halstow, Kent ME9 7ED
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Lower Halstow, Kent at Explore Britain.
TQ 86 NE LOWER HALSTOW SHEERNESS ROAD
2/5 Church of St. Margaret
Parish church. C8, C12 lean-to aisles and C13 tower, remodelled
C14 - C15, restored with new porch 1913 by W.D. Caroe. Chancel
and nave with aisles, south-west tower and south porch. Flint,
rubble stone and re-used Roman tiles, with plain tiled roof.
Two stage south-west tower, with shingled broach spire and
restored lancet window, built into Saxon nave, with restored
2-light curvilinear west windows. Pebble-dashed south porch
by Caroe. Heavily restored Perpendicular windows in south
aisle. Inset and stepped down chancel, with 3 offset buttresses
remains of small round-headed window outlined in tiles, and
courses of sloping tiles along base of walls, with 3 restored
Perpendicular 2-light windows. East end with corner buttresses
and restored Perpendicular 2-light window. North chancel wall
with restored lancet, C20 vestry and saxon tile-work.
North aisle with C20 buttresses, and C15/C16 champed round-headed
lancet windows. Interior: Saxon nave, original window still
in tower wall. Two bay late C12 arcade to aisles, large square
piers with chamfered imposts, plain pointed arches, narrower,
totally unmoulded and earlier to south. Nave and aisles under
1 roof, trussed rafter with lean-to aisles, C18 crown post sub-
roof in north aisle. Chamfered chancel arch on -imposts,
matching south arcade. Chancel with C13 three-bay blind arcading
on north and south walls, with attached marble shafts with moulded
caps and bases. C15 crown post roof of 3 bays. Fittings: mutilated
piscina in chancel, and aumbrey in east wall. Early C17 hexagonal
pulpit with tester. C18 box pews much altered by Caroe 1913.
C18 chandelier suspender, heavily decorated wrought iron, the
chandelier stolen. Font: Lead , c. 1190, bowl with arcade of 10
beaded and foliated arches with king and angel repeated under
alternate arches., At time of resurvey removed for exhibition.
Carried on Spurbeck marble shafts, at time of re-survey just
with wooden font cover - square C17, with C16 ogee cap. Remnant
wall paintings in nave and aisles, C14, representing St. Margaret,
St. Andrew. Coronation of the Virgin. Also late medieval graffiti
in south aisles, and some floor tiles at east end. Royal Coat of
Arms of George III over chancel arch. (See BOE Kent II, 1983,
373-4; Church Guide, 1977, P.T. Robbins; Report to Parish by
W. D. Caroe, 1913).
Listing NGR: TQ8676867356
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.