Church of St James, Sheldwich
Description: Church of St James
Date Listed: 24 January 1967
English Heritage Building ID: 176856
OS Grid Reference: TR0113356863
OS Grid Coordinates: 601133, 156863
Latitude/Longitude: 51.2754, 0.8823
Location: A251, Sheldwich, Kent ME13 0LT
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Sheldwich, Kent at Explore Britain.
TR 05 NW SHELDWICH ASHFORD ROAD
1/50 Church of St James
Parish church. C12, chancel and chapel C14, C15 west tower; restored and
north aisle and south chapel added 1888 by St Aubyn, south porch 1899.
Flint with plain tiled nave roof and slated chancel roof. Chancel and
north chapel, nave with north aisle and south chapel, south porch and west
tower. Three stage tower on plinth with string courses and battlements
and diagonal buttresses offset 3 times. South-eastern stair turret with
square lower stage rising to octagonal upper storeys with a spirelet. C15
Perpendicular traceried windows and 3 light western window in 4 centred
arched surround. Western doorway with roll mould and hollow chamfer and
roll moulded hood. Half-timbered and glazed south porch, and C12 south
doorway, round arched on imposts, with external holy water stoup. Nave
south wall with exposed jambs of C12 Romanesque window cut by C14 fenestration.
South chapel nearly free-standing, buttressed and now totally C19. Chancel
walls brought up higher than nave, with low-pitched slated roof. C14
fenestration except C19 Perpendicular style east window. North aisle with
reset C14 east window, otherwise C19. C14 window in nave eastgable a
mouchette wheel in triangular surround, the tracery bars decorated with
bead ornament. Interior: hollow chamfered tower arch and surround on
attached piers with octagonal capitals. Hollow chamfered stair door to south-
west. Exposed jambs of C12 windows in north and south nave walls. Three bay
north arcade to St Aubyn's Decorated style north aisle. Nave roof of 4 crown
posts, the end 2 raised. Two bay triple chamfered arcade on central
octagonal piers with attached columns to south chapel. Double chamfered
chancel arch. Double chamfered arch to north chapel. Roof of 3 crown posts
with embattled wall plate. Fittings: moulded piscina in chancel and cusped
ogee headed piscina in north chapel.C18 box pews with raised and fielded
panels in south chapel. Monuments: wall monument in chancel to Lewis Watkin,
Baron Sondes, d.1836. White marble on black background with draped sarcophagus
and scalpped achievement, signed Longley, Canterbury. Late C19 ogee headed
wall niche to Munn family in south chapel. Brasses: Sir Richard atteLees
d.1394 (and Lady Dionisia). Knight and Lady under double canopy. Large
figures (43") in large composition with inscribed surround in north chapel.
John and Isabel Cely d.1426. Knight and Lady, 32", he with winged hand in
benediction behind his head. Joan Mareys, d.1431. Foot long half-figure
rising from shroud, and holding a large heart. Stained glass: Thomas Willement,
c.1850 in the north aisle, c.1856 in the south aisle. (See B.U.E. Kent II,
1983, 459-460; Igglesden vol.22.)
Listing NGR: TR0106356852
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.