The School Hall Dover College, Dover
Description: The School Hall Dover College
Date Listed: 30 June 1949
English Heritage Building ID: 177759
OS Grid Reference: TR3154241582
OS Grid Coordinates: 631542, 141582
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1267, 1.3077
Location: Effingham Street, Dover, Kent CT17 9RP
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
There is also a scheduled monument, St Martin's Priory (remains of), at the same location as this building or very close to it. This may be related in some way or possibly a different name for the same structure.
Explore more of the area around Dover, Kent at Explore Britain.
TR 3141 DOVER EFFINGHAM CRESCENT
685/2/37A The School Hall Dover College
(Formerly the Refectory of
30.6.49 St Martin's Priory)
Former monastery refectory, later school hall. Circa 1139 refectory to St Martin's Priory, refounded by Archbishop Corbeuil in 1131, with some C13 replaced shaft capitals converted into school hall after 1868 by G E Street. Flint with horizontal bands of Caen stone 100 feet in length. Roof has been re-tiled. Two storeys with 8 round-headed windows to south divided by pilaster buttresses. Windows are shafted inside where they alternate with blank arches. Renewed eaves corbels, but at the east end the gable springs from stones carved with symbols of the Evangelists greatly worn. On the east wall springing of a tunnel-vaulted passage. Internally many shaft capitals which were not scalloped or with volutes were replaced in C13. Four east arch capitals treated with rich foliage and heads. Medieval wall painting of last supper much worn to full width of east wall. A better preserved fresco of a subject not yet identified is reported underneath.
(Pevsner BOE North East and East Kent p300)
Listing NGR: TR3154241582
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.