Church of St Andrew, Shepherdswell with Coldred
Description: Church of St Andrew
Date Listed: 28 May 1987
English Heritage Building ID: 178633
OS Grid Reference: TR2623447753
OS Grid Coordinates: 626234, 147753
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1842, 1.2358
Location: Coldred Road, Shepherdswell, Kent CT15 7LQ
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Shepherdswell with Coldred, Kent at Explore Britain.
TR 24 NE SHEPERDSWELL & COLDRED THE GREEN
2/104 Church of
Parish Church. 1863 by Benjamin Ferrey. Flint with Bath stone and with
plain tiled roof. Canted apsidal chancel, nave and north and south
chapels. Paired lancets and plate tracery throughout, with lancets,
offset buttresses and corbel table to banded tiled roof in apse. Interior:
roof trusses supported on carved head corbels. Continuous double wave
moulded chancel arch, with inner chamfered arch on black marble attached
shafts. Contemporary fittings. Glass in nave south window by Kempe,
1900. Monuments (all reset from earlier church). Ann Petit, d.1676.
Black marble wall plaque with pediment; enriched with foliage and wreaths.
William Merryweather, d.1702, and family. Large black and white wall
plaque in south chapel in form of double tablet with bolection moulded
surround enriched with acanthus, with central cartouche and dentil cornice
over. Four more plaques to the family set below. John Lownde, d.1754.
Wall plaque on nave south wall, in white marble with pediment, scrolled
sides and bracketted apron. Ann Elizabeth Frederick, d.1805, wall plaque
on nave north wall, in white marble with grey obelisk shaped background
with burning lamp carved over. Before 1863 was a simple 2 cell Romanesque
church, possibly that mentioned in Domesday. (See B.O.E. Kent II, 1983,
460; Church Guide, 1963).
Listing NGR: TR2619247815
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.