Swineshead Abbey, Swineshead
Description: Swineshead Abbey
Date Listed: 19 November 1951
English Heritage Building ID: 192125
OS Grid Reference: TF2494540722
OS Grid Coordinates: 524945, 340722
Latitude/Longitude: 52.9493, -0.1418
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Swineshead, Lincolnshire at Explore Britain.
TF 24 SW SWINESHEAD BAYTHORPE
4/72 Swineshead Abbey
House, on the site of a former Cistercian Abbey, built in 1607
for Sir John Lockton, reusing abbey remains. Altered early C19
and C20. Coursed and squared limestone rubble, lined stucco,
hipped slate roof, limestone rendered ridge and wall stacks, and
brick gable stack. L-plan. Garden front of 2 storey plus
attics, 5 irregular bays, with tall plinth, ashlar first floor
band and moulded wooden eaves board, off-centre recessed C20 half
glazed door in contemporary wooden surround, with to right a
single and to left 3 glazing bar sashes with splayed ashlar
lintels and keystones. To first floor are 4 similar windows.
Below the band a C19 escutcheon. In the roof 3 dormer windows
with glazing bar sash and leaded segmental head. On the right
hand side, a reset C13 effigy of a knight, lower part missing,
in chain mail and surcoat, above a reset datestone, WEL 1607, for
Lockton. To the right a C19 stuccoed 2 storey single bay wing
with glazing bar sashes. In the left hand end a full height sash
window with above an armorial panel, inscribed ILF. Interior
largely refitted early C19 and C20, with stick baluster stair
with wreathed handrail, contemporary joinery fittings. The
abbey was founded in 1134 by Robert de Gresley and according to
tradition King John is supposed to have stayed here the night
after he lost his baggage in the Wash, 12th October, 1216.
Listing NGR: TF2494540722
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.