Church of St Margaret, Beesby with Saleby
Description: Church of St Margaret
Date Listed: 9 March 1967
English Heritage Building ID: 195598
OS Grid Reference: TF4578678762
OS Grid Coordinates: 545786, 378762
Latitude/Longitude: 53.2858, 0.1854
Location: Mill Lane, Beesby, Lincolnshire LN13 0JA
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Beesby with Saleby, Lincolnshire at Explore Britain.
SALEBY WITH THORESTHORPE CHURCH LANE
TF 47 NE
3/75 Church of
9-3-67 St. Margaret
Parish church. 1850 by Stephen Lewin. Restored 1958. Buff
brick with ashlar dressings, slate roofs, stone coped. Nave
with western bellcote, south aisle, chancel, south porch. The 3
light west window has intersecting tracery with a trefoil lancet
to the south. The gabled bellcote has 2 trefoil headed arches
with quatrefoil over. In the north wall are 3 paired lights
with geometrical tracery subdivided by stepped buttresses, and in
the chancel is a similar 2 light window. The east window is of
3 lights, the hood mould has portrait human head stops. The
south wall of the chancel has a 2 light pointed window. To the
south wall of the aisle are 2 reticulated 2 light windows. The
gabled south porch has a double chamfered outer doorway with
moulded hood and a single chamfered inner doorway. Interior.
C19 3 bay south arcade with octagonal shafts and triple chamfered
arches. Chamfered chancel arch with octagonal responds and
human head corbels. In the chancel a pointed doorway in the
south wall. All fittings are C19 including the octagonal font,
carved in a C15 style. The 3 bay rood screen and rood are C20.
In the chancel north wall an arched recess contains a full length
effigy of a knight in chain mail and surcoat. Apparently to Sir
William de Hardreshull d.1303. Also in the chancel floor a small
brass to George Harrington, d.1556, who lies in St. Dunstans
Church, London, and a further one inscribed "to John Haryington
of Wickham, in the county of Lincoln, who built this chapel,
1592, being lord and patron of Salebie and lieth in St.
Sepulchre's Church, London and died 12th May, 1599," both bearing
arms and helms. At the east end of the chancel is the old
datestone of the original chapel, bearing the Haryington Arms and
Listing NGR: TF4578678762
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.