Church of St Lawrence and Bishop Edward King, Dalby
Description: Church of St Lawrence and Bishop Edward King
Date Listed: 3 February 1967
English Heritage Building ID: 195931
OS Grid Reference: TF4094370081
OS Grid Coordinates: 540943, 370081
Latitude/Longitude: 53.2091, 0.1090
Location: Dalby, Lincolnshire PE23 4PN
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Dalby, Lincolnshire at Explore Britain.
DALBY DALBY HALL LANE
TF 47 SW (south side)
4/4 Church of
3.2.67 St. Lawrence and
Bishop Edward King
Parish church. 1862. James Fowler of Louth. Re-using some
material from the former church. Dressed stone, ashlar, some
red, yellow and blue brick. Slate roofs. Coped gables with
single ridge crosses to the east nave and chancel. Decorative
ridges. Buttressed and set on a chamfered plinth. Nave with
west bell turret, south porch and chancel. Octagonal bell turret
projecting to the west and supported on a single buttress has a
spirelet with single tier of 4 lucarnes and corbel table of ball
flowers under. Turret of 2 stages, the west side with single
ogee arched and cusped light, arch supported on single pair of
colonnettes with decorative capitals. Above are 4 ogee arched
and cusped lights, those of the south and north sides part
blocked by small buttresses. The west nave has 2 arched windows,
each with single light, cusped tracery, hood mould, decorative
label stops and finials. Continuous sill band. North nave has a
single arched 2 light window with cusped tracery, hood mould and
decorative label stops. East chancel has a single arched 3 light
window with cusped tracery, hood mould and decorative label
stops. Continuous sill band. The south chancel has a single
arched 2 light window with cusped tracery, hood mould and
decorative label stops. The south nave with 2 similar larger
windows, hood moulds and label stops. South porch with moulded
arched entrance, hood mould and decorative label stops. Inner
moulded arched doorway, hood mould and decorative label stops.
Flush arch of polychromatic brickwork over. Interior of red
brick with flush yellow brick bands and polychromatic brick work
to the window arches apart from the east window of the south nave
which is ashlar. Yellow and red brick chancel arch supported on
ashlar colonnettes with shaft rings and decorative capitals.
Arch of east window supported on a single pair of similar smaller
colonnettes. C14 octagonal ashlar font with quatrefoil panels.
Ashlar pulpit. 2 C18 floor slabs. Good alabaster wall memorial
to Julyan Llanden, 1617. The apron is decorated with a coloured
shield and the crown with a small coloured kneeling female
figure, carved in low relief. Further alabaster wall memorial to
William Llanden and his wife, 1631. The decorative apron also
with a coloured shield. Over the inscription tablet are 2
coloured kneeling figures flanked by single Corinthian columns
supporting an entablature with coloured cartouche. The wall
tablet to Revd. Willm. Tyler, 1808, is surmounted by an urn.
Listing NGR: TF4094370081
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.