Church of All Saints, Orby
Description: Church of All Saints
Date Listed: 3 February 1967
English Heritage Building ID: 196041
OS Grid Reference: TF4906467248
OS Grid Coordinates: 549064, 367248
Latitude/Longitude: 53.1815, 0.2292
Location: Sapphire Close, Orby, Lincolnshire PE24 5HT
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
There is also a scheduled monument, Manor Farm Moated Site, at the same location as this building or very close to it. This may be related in some way or possibly a different name for the same structure.
Explore more of the area around Orby, Lincolnshire at Explore Britain.
TF 46 NE ORBY CHURCH LANE
5/40 Church of All Saints
Parish church. C13, C14, C15, C16, C17 porch, chancel rebuilt
1888. Greenstone ashlar, squared greenstone, sandstone and
chalk, coursed rubble, red brick, lead roofs. Western tower,
clerestoried nave, south aisle and porch, chancel. C16 3 stage
greenstone ashlar tower with bell moulded plinth, 2 chamfered
string courses, battlemented parapet, stepped corner buttresses
with some brick patching, crocketed pinnacles. To belfry stage
are 2 light openings with panel tracery and concave moulded
surrounds: To the west a 3 light matching window, and in the
middle stage a 2 light similar window. On the north side of the
nave is a pointed doorway with moulded hood and reset human head
keystone. Beyond is a 3 light C16 panel traceried window in an
earlier opening, and a tall C13 lancet. The clerestorey is of 6
paired C16 lights with cinquefoils to the heads. In the chancel
are 2 C14 2 light windows, one with flowing, the other with
reticulated tracery. In the east wall is a C14 2 light window
with C19 tracery. The south wall is in mixed stonework with a
re-used C14 2 light window and a single C19 light. The rainwater
head is dated 1888. The south aisle has a 2 light C19 window to
the east and west and a 3 light C14 window with ogee heads to the
lights and rectangular head and hood. Clerestorey matches that
to the north. Early C17 gabled red brick porch, in English bond
with plinth, chamfered and pointed outer arch with above a niche,
now with C19 roof. The inner doorway is single chamfered and
pointed, with hood mould. Interior. 3 bay south arcade, early
C16, with quirked and chamfered octagonal piers, with reeded
capitals, hollow chamfered arches with stop chamfers. C16 tower
arch, octagonal reveals and capitals, bell moulded base, tall
double chamfered arch. Matching chancel arch, set in earlier and
larger opening. Hollow chamfered rear arches to clerestorey.
C16 aisle roof with moulded principals, chamfered commons and
bold roll moulding at the junctions. Also a pointed piscina and
2 statue brackets, one with faces and a rosette. The chancel of
1888 incorporates the head and bowl of a C13 piscina. Fittings.
Fine mosaic reredos, of the Annunciation, in Pre Raphaelite style
with background of twining roses dated 1915. Handsome organ of
1830 by Parsons of London in veneered walnut case. Painted board
of Royal Arms of George III. C15 octagonal font, with cusped and
shielded panels to bowl and 4 cusped panels to stem.
Listing NGR: TF4906467248
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.