Church of St Nicholas, Gayton
Description: Church of St Nicholas
Date Listed: 15 August 1960
English Heritage Building ID: 221958
OS Grid Reference: TF7302219262
OS Grid Coordinates: 573022, 319262
Latitude/Longitude: 52.7433, 0.5617
Location: B1145, Gayton, Norfolk PE32 1PA
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Gayton, Norfolk at Explore Britain.
GAYTON LYNN ROAD
TF 71 NW
6/26 Church of St. Nicholas
Parish church, C14, restored 1850. Mainly flint with some carstone and a
few erratics. Stone dressings lead roof. West tower, nave, north and south
aisles, chancel, south porch. Tall 4-stage tower with short diagonal
buttresses and stone plinth; tall west window with Y tracery; second stage
with small quatrefoil sound holes, clock face to west, string course above.
Third stage with Y tracery bell openings, steep gable line of former roof
to east having blocked square opening within, string course above; 4th stage
with 2-light bell openings of reticulated tracery; string course to parapet
above with gargoyle to south and west, that to north lost. Embattled parapet
with some flushwork panelling, angle pinnacles of seated evangelistic symbols
holding shields. Pitch covered dome with octagonal stone block having windvane
finial. Nave: east gable with blocked lancet; north and south
clerestoreys alike of 4 openings, 2 cusped lights with trefoil under semi-
circular head alternating with circular openings with quatrefoils. North
aisle with slate roof, diagonal buttresses at angles and 3 stepped buttresses;
3 Y tracery openings, that to left wide, that to right cusped; west return
with similar opening; north doorway with continuous double roll moulding.
Oval window to east return with quatrefoil and eyelets. South aisle similar
to north but with 2 buttresses, the central opening with cusped Y tracery,
west return with cusped Y tracery opening having a trefoil with small dagger
eyelet between the lights. South porch of flint with some dressed limestone,
gabled pantile roof with parapet, sundial of 1604 to apex; semi-circular porch
arch with continuous hollow chamfered and roll mouldings; double cusp-headed
lights under a segmental head to returns; clasping purlin roof; south doorway
as north. Chancel with tiled roof, diagonal buttresses; C19 3-light east
window with panel tracery with blocked opening of earlier larger window; north
and south chancel each with buttress and 2 2-light openings having panel
tracery renewed; each with central priest's door, that to north blocked, under
pointed segmental head, that to south with figure stops to hood mould.
Interior: nave: tall 4 bay arcade north and south with octagonal piers and
double chamfered arches, chancel arch similar but lower with reduced imposts.
2-tier roof with moulded purlins and principal rafters, foliage bosses, other
rafters renewed, hammer beams against tower and chancel walls. C14 octagonal
font withquatrefoils to faces; square headed rear arch to oval window at
east of north aisle; south aisle with aumbry. Chancel: arch-braced 3-tier
roof of 1850 with foliage and heraldic bosses; Perpendicular piscina and
sedilia with cusped heads to arcade; north priest's door with flower stops,
oak dove over apex of east window. South aisle with trefoil headed piscina
and corbel plinth to right of east window. Tower: tall double chamfered arch
with gabled roof line above; hollow moulding to rear arch of tower window
and west window of south aisles; tower dome in brick with 8 stone ribs having
neither corbels nor central boss; 10-step newel stair at north-east angle
Listing NGR: TF7302219262
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.