Priory of St Mary in the Meadow, Beeston Regis
Description: Priory of St Mary in the Meadow
Date Listed: 4 October 1960
English Heritage Building ID: 223245
OS Grid Reference: TG1675642801
OS Grid Coordinates: 616756, 342801
Latitude/Longitude: 52.9388, 1.2242
Location: Brook Road, Beeston Regis, Norfolk NR26 8EX
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
There is also a scheduled monument, Beeston Priory, at the same location as this building or very close to it. This may be related in some way or possibly a different name for the same structure.
Explore more of the area around Beeston Regis, Norfolk at Explore Britain.
TG 14 SE
2/7 Priory of St. Mary
4:10:60 in the Meadow
(formerly listed as
Remains of Beeston Priory)
Augustinian Priory Church, now ruinous. Probably founded in 1216 by Margaret
de Cressy; dissolved in 1539. Flint with stone and brick dressings. Aisleless
nave with outshut to north (perhaps a sacristy), north transept with eastern
chapel, possibly a south transept, chancel. West wall remains to gable; C19
brick archway window above with some stone dressings and fragments of tracery
remaining; angle buttresses to north west corner robbed of ashlar. Nave of
3 bays. South nave wall now c.2 metres high obscured by vegetation, no trace
of openings. Buttressed north nave wall remains to full height but central
section where former openings were has fallen. Outshut in angle of nave and
transept has remains of unidentified feature on north wall now robbed of almost
all ashlar. Brick quoins. Roofline visible on west wall of transept. Angle
buttresses to north transept remain; some C13 brick dressings; triangular
coping. North face of transept has sill band below opening for large north
window, top of the gable and window head now collapsed. Window high in west
wall of transept has lost its tracery but otherwise intact. East chapel with
sill band; buttresses lost; some medieval brick. 2 windows to north one having
lost some stone. North east window has remnant of tracery suggesting Y-tracery
with hollow chamfered ribs; 2 hollow chamfered orders to arch. East window
robbed. To nave wall south of the crossing remains of a bell-turret which
collapsed in 1903, overgrown with ivy. Chancel of 2 bays with angle buttresses;
2 blocked lancets to south with sill band and continuous hood mould. C19 brick
archway, stone jambs; this apparently cuts a larger 2-centred arch opening,
possibly a relieving arch. Roofline over, partly obscured by vegetation. North
chancel wall with one opening, profile of reveals as transept chapel; sill band
and continuous hood mould. Central section of east wall rebuilt; remains of
sill and hood bands. Interior. Outshut to north nave wall entered from nave;
perhaps remains of wide doorway, now blocked; has hollow-chamfered jamb.
Doorway into transept. 3 clustered shafts of crossing pier now incorporated
into bell turrets, might suggest that south transept was intended; other
crossing piers lost. Part-blind arcade of 5 Early English arches to south
chancel wall, two of the arches enclosing now blocked windows. Sill band.
Impost band. One taller blind arch remains to east wall. North wall had
similar arcade to south, 3 arches now remaining, the centre being blind.
Remains of piscina and sedilia in south wall of transept chapel. To south the
remains of the cloister. Two parallel flint walls running approximately 20m
Listing NGR: TG1675642801
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.