Description: Abbey Farmhouse
Date Listed: 20 February 1952
English Heritage Building ID: 223246
OS Grid Reference: TG1676042759
OS Grid Coordinates: 616760, 342759
Latitude/Longitude: 52.9384, 1.2243
Explore more of the area around Beeston Regis, Norfolk at Explore Britain.
BEESTON REGIS CROMER ROAD
TG 14 SE
2/8 Abbey Farmhouse
House. Late C18 with earlier core. On site of south range of conventual
buildings of Beeston Regis Priory q.v. No.2/7. Flint with brick dressings;
glazed black pantile roof. Rectangular, 3-cell plan with C20 extension to rear.
Facade of 4 bays, 2 storeys. Casements replaced c1980 with those of late C18
form having 4 lights and transom; rendered rusticated reveals, renewed c1980,
previously had keystones, double to ground floor. Pedimented doorcase, renewed
c1980, C19 doorway to right of fourth bay. Evidence of earlier openings to
ground and first floors. Brick dentil eaves cornice of 3-header type. 2 axial
stacks, gable end stacks. Eastern gable wall rebuilt in flint with brick
banding and dated 1891. To rear, north west, corner a re-used C13 column base.
To upper floor, eastern end, a 6-light diamond mullion window revealed during
restoration. Interior. Small passageway with domed plaster vault, narrow ribs
and a rose. Western ground floor room with apsidal end, flanked by doorways.
Features said to have been revealed during restoration include remains of
timber frame of heavy scantling revealed in north wall: first floor principal
beams with wide chamfers in central and eastern rooms, possibly of early C16:
evidence that a single-storey western bay was added c1700, heightened to 2
storeys in late C18. 2 axial stacks off-centre, now corbelled-out to late C18
ridge line, possibly when rear outshut incorporated under new roof.
Listing NGR: TG1676042759
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.