Description: Church of St Andrew
Date Listed: 6 March 1959
English Heritage Building ID: 224018
OS Grid Reference: TF9839433797
OS Grid Coordinates: 598394, 333797
Latitude/Longitude: 52.8651, 0.9459
Explore more of the area around Thursford, Norfolk at Explore Britain.
TF 93 SE THURSFORD
2/106 Church of St. Andrew.
Parish Church. c.1200 north door. C14 west tower. Flint, stone
dressings, tiled roofs. Largely a High Victorian rebuilding c.1862-1865
by W. Lightly. West tower, nave and aisles, north porch, chancel with south
Family tribune, north vestry. Decorated west tower with set off angle
buttresses to west face, 4 2-light belfry windows, battlemented parapets.
North aisle and porch of 1865, Perpendicular style details. At junction
of north aisle and chancel a vestry under hipped roof, with one re-used
Decorated window, 2 Cl9 lancets. Fish scale tile patterns, ornamental
cresting to nave and chancel. Interior: north door arch c.1200, door c.1865
with distinctive metal banding. Nave with 2 bay 1865 north arcade, "Early
French" details, 4 bay south arcade with octagonal piers with square bases
and capitals, simple arches with single hollow chamfer, perhaps Perpendicular,
perhaps High Victorian. Arched braced 5 bay nave roof, plastered between
rafters, aisle roofs plastered with trusses pierced with cinquefoils. Chancel
and south transept tribune of 1865. Chancel arch on corbels. Large Early
English detailed wooden pulpit and stalls, arched braced boarded roof.
Tesellated floors, mosaic reredos, 3 light east window with stained glass
of 1862 either by Rev. Arthur Moore (Pevsner BOE North East Norfolk and
Norwich p.332) or by Arthur Moore M. Harrison Victorian Stained Glass (1980)
p.52 anticipating the William Morris style. 2-light north and south windows
1873 by Powell, designed by Wooldridge. To south family tribune with 3 bay
Early English style open screen with paired and coupled detached shafts of
pink sandstone capitals and arches. Dying arch to nave, with inscription
"this church was restored ... in memory of Sir Charles Chad 1865", quadri-
partite arched braced roof, grissaille glass in south window. Carved font
Listing NGR: TF9839433797
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.