Description: Church of St Mary, Moulton
Date Listed: 25 September 1962
English Heritage Building ID: 228588
OS Grid Reference: TG4023906670
OS Grid Coordinates: 640239, 306670
Latitude/Longitude: 52.6046, 1.5465
Explore more of the area around Beighton, Norfolk at Explore Britain.
TG 40 NW
4/12 Church of St. Mary,
Former parish church, now vested in the Redundant Churches Fund. C12 tower,
nave and chancel C14 with some later additions. Red brick, flint with limestone
dressings. Nave pantiled with crested ridge, chancel and south porch slated,
tower plain-tiled. West tower, nave, chancel, south porch. Round west tower,
probably C12, with a plain loop opening on the south side. To the north a larger
bell opening with a wooden framed louvre. Blocked 2-light Decorated window
to west. Conical plain-tiled roof. C16 red brick south porch with stone sun
dial set in south-west corner. Double hollow-chamfered arch with square label
and shields set in spandrels. Arched niche over doorway. Blocked 3-light east
and west porch windows with plain brick labels. South wall of nave has two
2-light windows with 'Y' tracery of c.1300 with a central 3-light Perpendicular
window with head-stops to its hood mould. Staged buttresses divide bays. Chancel
has two 2-light south windows with 'Y' tracery replaced in wood, probably early
C19. Priest's door with intersecting tracery between windows. East gable of
nave slate-hung. Chancel east wall rebuilt in brick; cast iron tie plates dated
1877 and 1879. East window replaced in wood : 3-light with intersecting tracery.
Flint and stone buttress at north-east corner. Wide single lancets in north
wall of chancel and eastern bay of nave. 2 and 3-light north windows in nave.
North doorway with plain and hollow chamfers and scrolled label stops. South
door retains medieval ironwork. Nave roof scissor-braced with boarded ceiling;
chancel ceiling plastered. Remains of rood stair re-constructed at south east
corner of nave. Timber beam with barred chamfer stops in place of chancel arch.
Chancel benches with poppy-heads, probably early C17. C17 communion rail with
turned balusters and posts. Corbel-head set in window jamb, north wall of
chancel. South wall of chancel has a fine double piscina of c.1300 with a
sexfoil perforation in the spandrel of the double-arched opening. Dropped cill
sedilia. Good wall monument to Edmund Anguish (+1616), his wife and son. Nave
has fine wall paintings, probably C14: on the north wall St. Christopher and
on the south wall the Seven Acts of Mercy. Finely carved octagonal pulpit,
early C17, with backboard and tester. C13 octagonal font with two shallow blind
arches on each face, plain central stem and eight plain shafts.
Listing NGR: TG4023906670
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.