Finedon Hall, Finedon
Description: Finedon Hall
Date Listed: 9 June 1970
English Heritage Building ID: 233687
OS Grid Reference: SP9113071917
OS Grid Coordinates: 491130, 271917
Latitude/Longitude: 52.3378, -0.6639
Location: 1 Mackworth Dr, Finedon, Northamptonshire NN9 5NL
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Finedon, Northamptonshire at Explore Britain.
FINEDON MACKWORTH DRIVE
SP9171 (South side)
7/35 Finedon Hall
09/06/70 (Formerly listed as Finedon
Hall, Station Road)
Country house. Probably C17 and C18, datestones 18S5, 1851, 1856 and l859 record
existing alterations, probably by E.F. Law, for William Mackworth-Dolben.
Ironstone ashlar with limestone dressings and slate roof. H-plan, Tudor-Gothic
style. Entrance front is 2 storeys with attic. Centre of 5-window range with
flanking gables breaking forward. Central porch has panelled door with 4-centred
moulded stone head with decorated and inscribed spandrels. Circular turret
attached to left of porch forms part of 10-light stone-mullion window with
transom, havinq moulded stone panels and quatrefoil parapet above. Ground and
first floor windows have C18 plain stone architraves with keyblocks and those at
first floor have C19 4-light stone-mullion windows with transoms, inserted into
the earlier surround. Centre bay breaks forward with quatrefoil parapet at eaves
level and gargoyles at corners, 3 attic windows have Tudor style gables with
3-light stone-mullion windows with shields and trefoil above. Projecting gable
to left: has 2-window range similar to centre range. Projecting gable to right
has large C19 22-light, square stone-mullion bay window. Return wall to left is
similar, of one-window range. Rusticated ashlar quoins to all corners and plain
castellated parapets with ashlar copings. Ashlar stacks at ridge and end.
Inscription to left gable "Gwell Angau"; continuation in right gable "Na
Vywilydd" is missing. Various heraldic shields. Garden front to left of entrance
front of 7-window range. Door openings to left and right of centre have moulded
stone surrounds, that to left has segmental pediment. 2-storey canted stone bay
windows to centre and left of range have quatrefoil parapets. Similar
single-storey square stone bay to far left. Windows have stone mullions some
with transoms and C18 plain stone architraves. 2- and 3-light attic windows set
in Tudor style gables, some now missing. Remains of various inscriptions and
carved heads. Elevation to right of main front is plain in similar style with
attached wall and ashlar gatepier. Rear elevation has projecting gable to left
and twin gables to right. Centre 3-window range, one blocked, with C18 plain
stone surrounds with keyblocks, Gable to right has tall, 6-light stone-mullion
staircase window with transom. Forms part of a group of buildings including The
Museum Tower, Bell Tower, Old Chapel and attached wall (q.v.)
(Buildings of England: Northamptonshir, p.210; Finedon Otherwise Thingdon by
J.C.H. Bailey, p.81; Country Life July 13th, 1901, p.148).
Listing NGR: SP9113071917
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.