Description: Gods Place, and Lobby to Church of St Mary
Date Listed: 18 July 1963
English Heritage Building ID: 247807
OS Grid Reference: SU6463691394
OS Grid Coordinates: 464636, 191394
Latitude/Longitude: 51.6177, -1.0678
Explore more of the area around Ewelme, Oxfordshire at Explore Britain.
EWELME HIGH STREET
SU6491 (North side)
8/98 God's Place, and lobby to
18/07/63 Church of St. Mary
(Formerly listed as
Almshouse. c.1437. Uncoursed limestone rubble; old plain-tile roof; brick
lateral stacks. Courtyard plan. Single storey and attic; 5-window range.
Projecting red brick porch to right of centre with crow-stepped cross-gable;
arched doorway in taller lancet surround with trefoil top. Irregular
fenestration mostly of 2-light wood casements. 2-light stone mullioned window to
cross-gable to left. 3 gabled dormers. Central square cloistered courtyard.
Internal wall; timber frame with brick infill. Outer wall has red brick base
with open timber-framed arcade above supporting lean-to roof. The centre of each
side of courtyard has Tudor-arched doorway with 3 trefoil-topped wood lancets
above and cross-gable with ornamental carved barge boards. The plan has 11
dwellings of one ground floor room and upstairs room arranged round 3 sides
with probably former warden's accommodation to fourth side. Each dwelling has
lateral stack to external wall. Lobby to church: Tudor arches to doorways to 4
sides. Carved shields supported by angel heads above. History: The licence to
establish the almshouse was granted in 1437 and the foundation was probably
complete by 1442, at the expense of the Earl and Countess of Suffolk. The
countess (nee Alice Chaucer) was born in Ewelme in 1409, the daughter of Thomas
Chaucer, the lord of the manor, and grand-daughter of Geoffrey, the poet. She
married William de la Pole, Earl of Suffolk in 1420 (created Duke of Suffolk
1448). He "for love of his wife and the commodity of her lands felt much to
dwell in Oxfordshire." They rebuilt the church, established the almshouse and
built the school. The use of brick, on the porch, the infill of the cloister
walls, etc, is one of the earliest in the county.
(Malcolm Airs "Ewelme" Archaelogical Journal Vol.135, 1978, pp.275-280j
Buildings of England: Oxfordshire, pp.595-600; Guide to St. Mary's Church,
Ewelme, and to the Almshouse and the School, 1980).
Listing NGR: SU6463391404
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.