Description: Church of St Mary
Date Listed: 24 April 1951
English Heritage Building ID: 248456
OS Grid Reference: SP7038506318
OS Grid Coordinates: 470385, 206318
Latitude/Longitude: 51.7511, -0.9818
Explore more of the area around Thame, Oxfordshire at Explore Britain.
THAME CHURCH ROAD
SP7006SW (East side)
8/29 Church of Saint Mary
24/04/51 (Formerly listed as St. Mary's 8
Church. Early C13 chancel, nave, transepts, and tower. C14 widening of aisles,
south porch; late C14 clerestory and upper stages to tower; mid C15
reconstruction of north and south transepts; restoration of c.1889 by J.O.
Scott. Squared coursed stone with ashlar stone dressings; lead roofs to aisles,
roofs of nave, chancel, transept and tower not visible; various stone stacks.
5-bay aisled nave, tower, 6-bay chancel, and transepts. 2-storey porch with
2-centre moulded archway; 2-bay quadripartite vault with carved bosses; stone
benches to east side of porch; C19 double plank doors with decorative
wrought-iron hinges to 2-centred moulded stone doorway with hood mould having
faces to end stops. First floor of porch has ogee-canopied image recess to
centre with C20 statue of St. Mary, flanked by trefoiled lancets. 3-light
reticulated tracery windows to aisle and chancel. 2-light Perpendicular tracery
windows to clerestory of nave. 5-light Perpendicular tracery window to south end
of south transept. 5-light rectilinear tracery window to west side of south
transept. Plain parapet to chancel, aisles, and transept, battlemented parapet
to clerestory. North side: early English doorway with plank door to right of
chancel. 4 lancets to chancel. 3-light Plate tracery window to right of chancel.
light reticulated tracery windows to aisle. 2-light Perpendicular tracery
windows to clerestory. 5-light Perpendicular tracery window to north end of
north transept. 5-light Rectilinear tracery window to west side of north
transept. West end: west window to nave; c.1672 5-light Perpendicular window
with uncusped panel tracery add crenellated transoms. West window to north
aisle; 2-light reticulated tracery window. East end: 5-light geometrical tracery
window. Tower: 3-light Perpendicular tracery windows to each side of lower
stage. Two 2-light stone mullion and transom openings, with reticulated tracery
to top, to each side of second stage of tower. Battlemented parapet. Interior;
probably C19 Perpendicular-style roofs to chancel, nave and aisles. Late C19
wood ceilings with moulded wood ribs to transepts. Shoulder-arched piscina to
right of chancel. Altar tomb to Lord Williams of Thame and his first wife,
Elizabeth, to centre of chancel: reclining figures at prayer on richly carved
chest, attributed to Gerard Johnson the elder, repaired by Willaim Bird of
Oxford after the Civil War. C16 choir-stalls to chancel with linen-fold
panelling. C17 chancel screen with linen-fold panelling to base and arcade on
decorated columns. 2-centred arches to crossing. Late C19 choir-stalls to
crossing. C14 screen to north transept with plank base and reticulated tracery
above. Early C18 octagonal wood pulpit and sounding board to left of nave-arch.
Font has octagonal stone bowl on re-used C12 and C13 stone work. Church has a
fine collection of monuments. 2 windows to chancel by Clayton and Bell, north
aisle west window by Morris and Co. c.1923.
(Buildings of England: Oxfordshire, 1979, p.806-7; V.C.H.: Oxfordshire, Vol.7,
Listing NGR: SP7038006317
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.