Description: Church of the Holy Ascension
Date Listed: 21 November 1966
English Heritage Building ID: 249488
OS Grid Reference: SU3124897152
OS Grid Coordinates: 431248, 197152
Latitude/Longitude: 51.6723, -1.5495
Explore more of the area around Littleworth, Oxfordshire at Explore Britain.
2/3 Church of the Holy
Church 1839 by H J Underwood of Oxford with chancel 1876. Rubble stone with
ashlar dressings. Lancet Gothic. 3-bay nave, broad, aisleless with low
pitched stone tiled roof. Side buttresses and diagonal angle buttresses
with string course at level of top set-off and window heads. Dentil eaves
course. More elaborate west front with bellcote and 2-light west window
with quatrefoil light over, all ashlar with hoodmould stepped up from string
course. Gabled porch with shafted moulded arch and carved foliage capitals.
2-bay chancel, crazed rubble. Cusped lancets and 3 lancets to east end.
Projecting plinth. Priest's door with ornate ironwork. Interior: Thin false
hammerbeam nave roof, arched braced collar truss with crown posts to chancel.
East window with-moulded rear arches and triple shafts between lights. In
nave 4 panels of sacred texts painted on metal in a C15 illuminated manuscript
style. Church founded by the Tractarian, E B Pusey.
Listing NGR: SU3124897152
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.