Description: Church of St Augustine of Canterbury
Date Listed: 24 November 1966
English Heritage Building ID: 250098
OS Grid Reference: SU4593188614
OS Grid Coordinates: 445931, 188614
Latitude/Longitude: 51.5945, -1.3383
Explore more of the area around East Hendred, Oxfordshire at Explore Britain.
EAST HENDRED CHURCH STREET
SU4588 (North side)
19/60 Church of St. Augustine of
(Formerly listed as Church of
Church. C12 origins; C14 north aisle, north transept, and chancel; C15 tower,
south chapel and outer south aisle of 2 bays; restoration and re-modelling
c.1860 by H. Woodyer including removal of south porch, south aisle extended and
clerestory remodelled. Stone ashlar to tower; uncoursed stone rubble plinth to
south aisle; render, probably on stone rubble to left; coursed stone rubble to
right; flint and stone in random chequer to south chapel; lead roof to aisles;
C20 plain-tile roof to nave; stone slate roof to chancel; roof of tower not
visible. 3-bay chancel with side chapels, 4-bay aisled nave, and west tower. C19
plank door to left of south aisle with mid C19 surround. C19 geometrical tracery
windows to south aisle. Two 3-light flat-headed Perpendicular tracery windows to
south chapel, and to east end of chapel. C19 trefoils to clerestory. C19
geometrical tracery windows to east end of chancel and vestry. North side: C15
two-light reticulated tracery windows to north aisle. C15 three-light
reticulated tracery window to north transept. C19 trefoils to clerestory. C19
fenestration to vestry. West tower of 3 stages: double plank doors to 4-centre
arched doorway with plain spandrels and hood mould to west face of tower.
4-light rectilinear tracery window with hood-mould above. 2-light reticulated
tracery louvred opening to each face of upper stage of tower. Open quatrefoil
balustrade to top of tower, with corner finials. Interior: braced collar-truss
roof to chancel, part panelled. C19 reredos, piscina and sedilia. South chapel:
2-bay Perpendicular roof. Some medieval glass fragments, including armorial
bearings, to windows. Chancel screen of c.1860. C15 wood screen to south chapel.
Octagonal wood pulpit and sounding board of c.1660 to left of chancel screen.
C19 recut nave arcades of four 2-centred arches on columns. 2 centred arch to
(Buildings of England: Berkshire: 1975, p133; VCH: Berkshire: Vol 4, 1924,
Listing NGR: SU4593188614
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.