Description: Park Farmhouse
Date Listed: 12 September 1955
English Heritage Building ID: 253316
OS Grid Reference: SP2716904224
OS Grid Coordinates: 427169, 204224
Latitude/Longitude: 51.7361, -1.6079
Explore more of the area around Alvescot, Oxfordshire at Explore Britain.
SP2604-2704 ALVESCOT LOWER END
9/6 Park Farmhouse
12/09/55 (Formerly listed as Park
Farmhouse. Dated RKM 1741 on plaque. Limestone, faced in ashlar to front and
right side, remainder rubble. Stone slate roof, flanking chimneys with C20 brick
shafts. L-plan. 2 storeys and attic, double fronted to south. Rubble stone
plinth with moulded coping, raised first floor band-course and quoins, moulded
stone eaves cornice. Coped gables, that to rear with ball finial. Front has
4-pane sashes to ground floor, 2-light barred wooden casements above, and
smaller 2-light leaded casement to centre of first floor. Central C19 6-panelled
door with semi-circular radiating fanlight, fan ornament to spandrels, and
semi-circular stone hood on shaped stone brackets. All front openings have stone
lintels with keyblocks. Right side has date plaque in gable end, and 2-bay rear
wing with 2-light wood and metal casements below wooden lintels. Wing also has 2
gabled dormers with paired leaded casements, and half-glazed door to left with
semi-circular stone hood. To far end of wing is a later rubble stone bay with
3-light casements, formerly bakehouse and store. Outshot to rear of south wing.
C20 conservatory in rear angle. Interior has contemporary staircases, the main
one with 3 turned balusters per tread, moulded handrail and pendants, the back
stairs with winders.
Listing NGR: SP2716904224
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.