Description: The Abbey
Date Listed: 17 April 1959
English Heritage Building ID: 262848
OS Grid Reference: ST5355428690
OS Grid Coordinates: 353554, 128690
Latitude/Longitude: 51.0557, -2.6641
Explore more of the area around Charlton Mackrell, Somerset at Explore Britain.
ST52NW CHARLTON MACKRELL CP TOP ROAD (South side)
5/43 The Abbey
House on site of Chantry Chapel. Late C16 with earlier fragments, restored 1902. Local lias stone roughly squared and
coursed, Ham stone dressings; plain clay tile roofs, some between stepped coped gables, some hipped; stone chimney
stacks, some octagonal ashlar, some stone rubble. Triple-roof plan with earlier crossing at west end. Mostly 2 storeys
with attic; west end 3 storeys. West entrance elevation 4 bays, of which bays 1 and 2 are of 3 storeys; bays 3 and 4
set back, with small C20 porch with gabled roof and small chimney stack bay 3: bays 1 and 2 the earliest part of house;
double corner buttresses with offsets, central ground floor 2-light C16 window having double wave mould and unusual
panelled mullion, set under damaged label; above two 2-light hollow chamfer mullioned windows in wave mould recesses
with square heads and labels; above central 3-light ovolo mould mullioned window with label; all windows with
rectangular panes and some metal casements; pointed relieving arch offcentre bay 2 first floor window, and another over
bay 4 ground floor window, a single hollow chamfer in wave mould-light, with label: bays 3 and 4 otherwise blank. South
elevation has gable to porch, featuring stepped external chimney stack and sundial, set back; then 2 wide bays with
full-height end and centre buttresses; hollow chamfer mullioned windows in wave-mould recesses with labels; 4-light to
lower-bay 1, 3-light to both levels bays 2: upper-bay 1 has wider cruciform mullioned and transomed 2-light window.
East elevation has triple gables set in receding planes, with lean-to against northernmost; south gable has 2-light
mullioned windows to ground floor and attic, above is a square stone with circular carved pattern; central gable has
cruciform window below and 3 and 2-light windows above, and 2-light to attic of north gable, which has gabletted
finial, under which is a plain stone plaque with hood. north elevation to match, and extending northwards an early C20
extension which may include some re-used windows. Inside, the west room has beamed ceiling, and staircase with early
C17 fragments, with semi-circular lozenge-decorated arch on landing; the drawing room (the Oak room) has beam and joist
ceiling and c1600 wall panelling with top frieze and cornice mould; fine oak overmantel to fireplace, which has moulded
cambered arch-similar smaller fireplaces elsewhere in house. Bedroom above originally full width of house; retains
corner cupboard and window reveal-panels probably early C17. The north rooms gutted by fire in 1960's, restored plain.
Noth east stairs to attic have a pointed arch with timber door, possibly C15 reused; two attic rooms have barrel
vaulted ceiling, and a 2-panel door. In the north wall the label to a 2-light window, and an arched doorway which could
be C13/C14, 1902 restoration thought to be by C.E Ponting, who also restored Lytes Cary (qv). The site of the Chantry
Chapel of the Holy Spirit, founded 1237, and believed to incorporate fragments therof, its remodelling appears to be of
late C16 date. (Nares, G: Country Life, Vol CVll, Jan 13th 1950; Victoria County History, Volume III, 1974).
Listing NGR: ST5355528687
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.