Description: Church of St Peter
Date Listed: 4 February 1958
English Heritage Building ID: 263975
OS Grid Reference: ST3518917423
OS Grid Coordinates: 335189, 117423
Latitude/Longitude: 50.9526, -2.9240
Explore more of the area around Ilton, Somerset at Explore Britain.
ILTON CP CHURCH ROAD (East side, off)
3/75 Church of St. Peter
Anglican parish church. Some C12 and C13 fragments, mostly C14, restored 1860, with chancel rebuilt and north aisle
chapel added by J.M. Allen. Local stone rubble, some cut and squared, Ham stone dressings; Welsh slate roofs between
coped gables, with stone slate base courses to nave, sheet lead to north aisle. Five-cell plan of 2-bay chancel, 3-bay
nave, south transept, 3-bay north aisle and 2-bay north aisle chapel, with south tower incorporating porch. Chancel has
plinth, eaves course and angled corner buttresses; east window a C19 3-light Geometric traceried with label; side
windows are 2- light reticulated tracery, one on north and two on south side with chamfered pointed-arched doorway with
label between; in south west angle with transept a low octagonal-plan extension with steeply hipped lead sheet roof and
cusped lancet windows, probably C19. forth aisle chapel has plinth, corner buttresses, with a late C15 style east
window having headstop label; in north wall one window to match chancel side windows, possibly a re-use from there.
North aisle has tall double plinth, bay buttresses and pairs of offset buttresses to north-west corner; three C15 style
2-light windows in slightly hollowed recesses in north wall and one to west. South transept has no plinth, angled
corner buttresses; a 3-light C19 traceried window with label in south gable, and,2-light to match, probably C15, in
east wall. Nave visible only at west end, with plinth, pair of offset corner buttresses, with one window in south wall
matching those of north aisle; in west gable a tall moulded pointed-arched doorway without label, with late C19 3-light
window over set in hollowed recess under headstop label. Tower may have C12 base, now rendered; 2 stages; small angled
south-east corner buttress: in south face a moulded pointed-arched doorway with headstop label, and small 2-light
double-cusped lancet window over, above which is a stone sundial; on west side a single cusped lancet at low level and
slim lancet above; string mould divides second stage, which has a low plain parapet, and one 2-light C15 style window
with stone louvres to each face. Interior not accessible, but noted or reported are rere-arches to the chancel window
and elaborately cusped rere-arches in the south transept, C15 chancel and transept arches, with north arcade to match.
Fittings include an ogee-arched piscina resting on a head corbel, plain C17 pulpit, font probably C19; in north aisle
several glazed tiles of c1540. Memorials include the defaced alabster effigy of a lady, of c1475, and a brass to
Nicholas Wadham, died 1508, with effigy in shroud, and plaque to Jane, Lady Wadham, died 1557. South west nave window
has engraved glass by Lawrence Whistler. First recorded vicar 1221. An 1822 report speaks of wooden spire to tower,
and, probably erroneously, of two aisles. (Pevsner N, Buildings of England South and West Somerset, 1958; Greenwood C &
J, Somerset Delineated, 1822).
Listing NGR: ST3518917423
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.