Description: Former Brendon Hill Mineral Railway Station, at Ngr St 0225 3435
Date Listed: 11 June 1975
English Heritage Building ID: 264821
OS Grid Reference: ST0225034350
OS Grid Coordinates: 302250, 134350
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1001, -3.3974
Explore more of the area around Old Cleeve, Somerset at Explore Britain.
ST03SW OLD CLEEVE CP
7/63 Former Brendon Hill Mineral
Railway Station, at NGR ST 0225
Mineral railway station, now store. 1861, altered late C20. Rendered over red sandstone, rusticated quoins, plinth,
door and window surrounds, hipped slate roof, brick stack left, deep projecting eaves on facade, lower independently
roofed gabled wings. Single storey, 1:2:1 bays, wooden casements, right wing inserted C20 window in rendered earlier
doorway opening, probably to WC. Central three-quarter glazed double doors. Eaves supported at ends by C20 rendered
walls with side lights, replacing original timber supports. The Brendon iron nines opened 1851; the final section of
the mineral railway to the coast, the incline from Camberow to the summit at Brendon Hill opened 1861. Mining finally
ceased in 1910. (VCH Somerset, vol 5, forthcoming; Sellick, The West Somerset Mineral Railway 1970).
Listing NGR: ST0225034350
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.