Description: Lower Terhill Farmhouse
Date Listed: 4 May 1984
English Heritage Building ID: 270264
OS Grid Reference: ST1769632681
OS Grid Coordinates: 317696, 132681
Latitude/Longitude: 51.0875, -3.1765
Explore more of the area around Bishop's Lydeard, Somerset at Explore Britain.
ST13SE BISHOP'S LYDEARD CP
3/53 Lower Terhill Farmhouse
Farmhouse. C16, enlarged C17 and mid C19. Rendered over cob and random
rubble, slate roofs, bargeboarded on independently roofed Victorian
addition, large external stack on North front, brick stack at West gable
end of original block and South gable end of C17 addition. "L"-plan, 3
cell and cross passage derivative facing South, C17 addition to South-
east, Victorian addition to West. Entrance now on East front: 2 storeys,
2 bays; C19 casements, 3-light above doorway to right, left-hand side
breaks forward (C17 addition) 4-light dormer, similar below altered late
C20, independently roofed extension to left.
Interior: chamfered beams with runout stops to left of cross passage, to
right 9 panel moulded compartment ceiling, South-east room (to left of
C20 entrance) moulded oval bayleaf ceiling centre with decorative strips
of plasterwork attaching it to outer rectangular frame, incomplete
plaster frieze of floral ornament, plaster overmantel with unidentified
coat of arms and supporters, obscured by late C20 paint. Stairs once
stood to left of fireplace (blocked) giving access to main bedroom above (divided) with coved ceiling, Tudor rose on ceiling and plaster
overmantel of unidentified biblical scene. 4 centred arch doorhead. Roof
not inspected, it is possible that this was originally an open hall
house. This was the Manor house of East Bagborough.
(J Collinson, The History and Antiquities of the County of Somerset,
Vol III, 1791).
Listing NGR: ST1769632681
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.