Description: Church of St James the Great
Date Listed: 25 January 1956
English Heritage Building ID: 270311
OS Grid Reference: ST1197428391
OS Grid Coordinates: 311974, 128391
Latitude/Longitude: 51.0481, -3.2571
Explore more of the area around Fitzhead, Somerset at Explore Britain.
ST12NW FITZHEAD CP
CHURCH ROAD (EAST SIDE)
3/100 Church of St James the Great
(formerly listed as Church of St
Parish church. C15 tower restored 1883, nave and chancel rebuilt 1849, heated vestry added 1863, North aisle added
1887, Red sandstone, Ham stone dressing, tiled roofs. Three bay Nave with North aisle, extended East for vestry, West
tower. Three stage crenellated tower with diagonal buttresses, 4 centred arch doorway, late C19 double doors, square
headed hoodmould with leaf decoration in the spandrels, late C19, 3-light Perpendicular window directly above 2-light
bell openings with Somerset tracery, square, crenellated stair turret in South-east corner. Entrance to Church through
West door. 2- and 3- and 4-light Perpendicular windows with lancet to East of chancel door. Interior: rendered. The
main feature of the church is the very fine late C15 rood screen, partially restored. The unusual large central opening
was made in 1849 when the screen was placed at the West end of the Church and benches added. It was restored to the
chancel arch circa 1908. Standard Perpendicular piers. Mid C19 font, stone pulpit, and bench pews. Thirteen medieval
sculptured faces at West end, taken from earlier church? (Jeboult, West Somerset, 1893; photographs in NMR).
Listing NGR: ST1197428391
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.