Church of All Saints, Newborough
Description: Church of All Saints
Date Listed: 12 January 1966
English Heritage Building ID: 273885
OS Grid Reference: SK1352525400
OS Grid Coordinates: 413525, 325400
Latitude/Longitude: 52.8260, -1.8007
Location: B5234, Newborough, Staffordshire DE13 8SU
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Newborough, Staffordshire at Explore Britain.
SK 12 NW NEWBOROUGH C.P. NEWBOROUGH
11/178 Church of All Saints
Parish Church. 1899-1901 on a medieval site. By J. Oldrid Scott.
Coursed and squared stone with ashlar dressings; plain tile roof with
coped verges on shaped kneelers. 5-bay nave with north porch, 2-bay
chancel, south-east vestry and tower and north-east organ projection
with diagonal buttresses; Gothic style. Nave: Bay divisions marked
by buttresses pointed windows of 3 cinquefoil headed lights and Decorated
tracery, 2 West widows separated by a buttress, both pointed and of 3
trefoil-headed lights with Decorated tracery over, hood moulds ending in
shields; gabled north porch with circular traceried windows to gable,
pointed opening with roll moulded hood terminating in shields leading
to pointed north door. Chancel: Pointed east window has 3-lights,
the 2 outer ones trefoil-headed, the central one cinquefoiled, cusped
tracery over, pointed window to north side with 2 ogee trefoil-headed
lights and quatrefoil over. Tower: 5 stages, square plan for first
2 stages, octagonal above with crocketed spire, semi-octagonal projection
to south. First stage has pointed windows with single cinquefoil-
headed lights, second stage has trefoil-headed lights under an ogee
arch and a parapet with quatrefoil openings, third stage blind, fourth
stage has ogee-headed panels containing ogee arch. Windows with
trefoil-headed lights, belfry stage has louvred openings of 2 trefoil
headed lights under an ogee arch with supermullion rising to a square
head. Organ projection: Gable has circular light containing cusped
tracery, within a square frame. Interior: Pointed chancel arch with
double chamfer and roll and fillet moulded hood; nave roof has king
posts braced on 4 sides, the braces extending to ridge piece and to
principal rafters, tie beams supported by short posts standing on stone
corbels with braces extending to soffit of tie beams; arch-braced
collar roof over chancel with king post above. Fittings: Octagonal
stone font of 1916, wooden eagle lectern, octagonal stone pulpit and
wooden rood screen, all early C20.
Listing NGR: SK1352525400
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.