Church of St Edward the Confessor, Cheddleton
Description: Church of St Edward the Confessor
Date Listed: 3 January 1967
English Heritage Building ID: 274566
OS Grid Reference: SJ9709252411
OS Grid Coordinates: 397092, 352411
Latitude/Longitude: 53.0689, -2.0448
Location: Hollow Lane, Cheddleton, Staffordshire ST13 7HP
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
There is also a scheduled monument, Churchyard Cross, St Edward's Churchyard, at the same location as this building or very close to it. This may be related in some way or possibly a different name for the same structure.
Explore more of the area around Cheddleton, Staffordshire at Explore Britain.
CHEDDLETON C.P. HOLLOW LANE
13/76 Church of St Edward
3.1.67 the Confessor
(formerly listed as
Church of St Edwards)
Parish church. C13, C14 and C15 with additions and alterations of
1863-4 by George Gilbert Scott Junior. Red sandstone of ashlar
quality; red tiled roof to all but tower and south aisle which are
flat with lead invisible behind parapets. West tower, nave, north
and south aisles (with porch) and chancel. Tower: of approximately
3 stages, diagonal buttresses to west, cavetto string above and below
bell chamber; crenellated parapet with crocketed pinnacles at angles;
2-light, labelled almost-round arch bell chamber openings, small
lancets to upper stage and C19 two-light west window with panel
tracery over Tudor-arch labelled west door. C15 south aisle and
projecting gabled porch; 3 bays, buttressed at ends and parapetted
with porch set to west; 2- and 3-light pointed C19 windows; porch
has a solid stone roof [perhaps the inspiration for the lychgate
(q.v.)] and round-arch doorway with heavily carved C19 door. North
aisle: by Scott, of 3 bays divided by 2-stage buttresses of 2-light
pointed windows; lower parallel range to west of one bay. Chancel:
C14, low moulded plinth, taller than nave, of 3 bays divided by 2-
stage buttresses, labelled 2-light pointed windows; 4-light curvi-
linear-tracery east window by Scott; ogee-headed priest door to
south, adjacent to centre window. Interior: nave of 3 bays; C13
arcade to north with circular columns, octagonal abaci and double-
chamfered pointed arches, C15 south arcade on octagonal columns; no
chancel arch, the space is filled by C19 oak screen with pointed arch
and panel tracery; nave roof C19 with tie and collar trusses bearing
double purlins and exposed rafters; painted boarded vault to chancel;
arch brace collared trusses to north aisle. The tower has a painted
boarded canopy under the organ (situated in the tower). Piscina and
sedilia: C14, ogee-headed of bays and with ball-flower decoration
to intrados band and poppyhead finials. Reredos: Flemish relief of
the deposition to back made into a triptych by additions of Morris &
Co depicting the annunciation. Pulpit: C19, octagonal oak on a stone
base. Font: C19 alabaster, octagonal, with blind tracery to sides
and short, open-work ogee-shaped oak spire cover. Brass Flemish eagle
lectern. Monuments: all resited on south wall of tower at high level.
Fynney family: Gothic; crocketed gabled niche flanked by clustered
columns on corbelled bases with carved faces. Powys: 2 monuments
at-the instigation of Edward Powys, one to a friend, and to his son.
Late C18 slate and marble plaques with urns over. Glass: mostly by
William Morris and his group executed between 1864-69, including work
by Madox Brown and Burne-Jones. The incumbent during the mid-C19 was
Edward Wardle, a friend of William Morris, explaining the high but
sensitive tone of the restoration work.
Listing NGR: SJ9709252411
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.