Description: Church of St Edmund
Date Listed: 23 March 1961
English Heritage Building ID: 277828
OS Grid Reference: TL9357438796
OS Grid Coordinates: 593574, 238796
Latitude/Longitude: 52.0138, 0.8194
Explore more of the area around Assington, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
Church of St Edmund
TL 93 NW 11/32 23.3.61.
A C15 flint church with stone dressings. The chancel was rebuilt in 1830
and the west tower was rebuilt in 1863 when the church was restored.
The tower has angle buttresses, a castellated parapet and an octagonal
corner staircase turret. The nave has a castellated parapet. The south
doors were made by Thomas Elliston in 1766. The nave has braced cambered
beams with crown posts and the aisles have moulded beams and joists, with
bosses carved with heads and tudor roses. The interior fittings include
a brass of circa 1500 to a knight and lady, a brass to Robert Gurdon (d
1577) and wife, a brass to John Gurdon (d 1623) and wife, in the chancel
a double wall monument of circa 1625 with 2 pairs of kneeling figures
to Robert Gurdon (d 1577) and John Gurdon (d 1623), and in the south aisle
a wall monument to Brampton Gurdon (d 1648) and his 2 wives. Graded for
its historical value and internal features.
Listing NGR: TL9357438796
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.