Description: The Town House
Date Listed: 22 February 1955
English Heritage Building ID: 278713
OS Grid Reference: TM0779134344
OS Grid Coordinates: 607791, 234344
Latitude/Longitude: 51.9687, 1.0235
Explore more of the area around East Bergholt, Suffolk at Explore Britain.
TM 0734 EAST BERGHOLT BURNT OAK
6/6 The Town House (Nos 1 to 3)
(Formerly listed as
Almshouses at the Road
22.2.55 junction, 40 yards East of
King's Head Inn)
Burnt Oak Cottages on OS Map. Range of cottages. 3 builds. Early C16 range to
Flatford Road, later C16 range to Main Road with probable C17 addition to right.
Later alterations. Timber-framed, rendered. Plain tile roof. Red brick stacks.
2 storeys, L-plan. Flatford Road front: 4 1st floor windows. Two C20 doors, small-
paned casements. Steeply-pitched hipped roof. To Main Road: 5 1st floor windows,
irregularly spaced. Range to left is jettied to rear. Steeply-pitched roof. Range
to right is slightly lower with lobby-entry plan with half-glazed door and further
entrance in gabled porch to gable end. Interior: Flatford Road range: chamfered
beams and exposed joists. No 2 shows jowled posts, cambered tie-beam. Unmoulded
crown post with mortice for missing brace to collar purlin with splayed scarf.
Roof not fully inspected. In 1654 this building was bought by the Parish Overseers
for housing paupers.
East Bergholt Society, East Bergholt 1981, Text J Elam.
Listing NGR: TM0779134344
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.